Docs Menu

Manage Your MongoDB Atlas Account

On this page

You can manage your Atlas account's settings, unlink your account from your Google or GitHub account, and configure multi-factor authentication for your Atlas account.

To find your MongoDB Atlas account:

1
2

The Overview page opens. From here, you can:

From the left-side navigation bar, you can also:

You can change the email address that you use to log in to your MongoDB Atlas account.

Note

If your login information is managed by an identity provider with Federated Authentication, contact your company's administrator instead.

If you log in with Google SSO, you must unlink your account before you change your email address.

To change your email address:

1
2
3
4
  1. Click Change Email Address under your current email address.
  2. Enter your password. If you have MFA enabled, authenticate with your MFA method.
  3. Enter a new email address.

    Note

    You can't use an email address associated with another account or with a deleted account.

  4. Click Save Changes.

    Note

    After you save your changes, a banner at the top of the page asks you to verify your email. If you want to cancel your change and continue using your original email address, click Cancel Request on the banner.

5

A verification email is sent to your new email address once you save your changes. In that email, click Verify Email to update your email address. The project activity feed records your update.

6

Use your updated email address to log in to Atlas.

If you linked your MongoDB Atlas account to your Github Account, you can unlink it using the following procedure.

To unlink your MongoDB Atlas account from your Github Account:

1
  1. Click Manage your MongoDB Account.
  2. Click Profile Info. The console indicates that:

    • Your Atlas account is linked to your GitHub account.
    • If you intend to unlink your account, you must change your password for your Atlas account.
  3. Click Unlink from GitHub.
  4. Click Confirm. Atlas sends you an email to your email account. This message has instructions to reset your Atlas account password.
2
  1. Log in to email and locate the Password Reset email.

    Note

    If you don't reset your password within two hours, submit a new request.

  2. Click the password reset link in the email to complete the password reset process.
  3. Type your email.
  4. Type your new Atlas password.

    Note
    Atlas Password Policy

    Your Atlas user account password must:

    • Contain at least eight characters.
    • Contain unique characters, numbers, or symbols.
    • Exclude your email address and Atlas username.
    • Differ from your previous four passwords.
    • Differ from the most commonly used passwords.
  5. Retype your new password to confirm it.
  6. Click Save. When your password meets the requirements and matches in both fields, you have reset your password. Atlas displays a success message with a link to log in.
3
  1. Click Log in to continue.
  2. Type your email.
  3. Type your new password.

If you linked your MongoDB Atlas account to your Google Account, you can unlink it using the following procedure.

To unlink your MongoDB Atlas account from your Google Account:

1
  1. Click Manage your MongoDB Account.
  2. Click Profile Info. The console indicates that:

    • Your Atlas account is linked to your Google account.
    • If you intend to unlink your account, you must change your password for your Atlas account.
  3. Click Unlink from Google.
  4. Click Confirm. Atlas sends you an email to your Gmail account. This message has instructions to reset your Atlas account password.
2
  1. Log in to Gmail and locate the Password Reset email.

    Note

    If you don't reset your password within two hours, submit a new request.

  2. Click the password reset link in the email to complete the password reset process.
  3. Type your email.
  4. Type your new Atlas password.

    Note
    Atlas Password Policy

    Your Atlas user account password must:

    • Contain at least eight characters.
    • Contain unique characters, numbers, or symbols.
    • Exclude your email address and Atlas username.
    • Differ from your previous four passwords.
    • Differ from the most commonly used passwords.
  5. Retype your new password to confirm it.
  6. Click Save. When your password meets the requirements and matches in both fields, you have reset your password. Atlas displays a success message with a link to log in.
3
  1. Click Log in to continue.
  2. Type your email.
  3. Type your new password.

This section walks you through deleting your Atlas account.

To delete your Atlas account, you must ensure that you have no:

  • Outstanding invoices
  • Active database deployments
  • Projects
  • Organizations
Important

If you log in to Atlas through an identity provider, you can't delete your account yourself. Contact your identity provider to delete your Atlas account.

If you use legacy two-factor authentication, disable it before proceeding to delete your Atlas account.

To delete a project for an organization:

  • You must either have the Owner role for the project or have the Organization Owner role for the project's organization.
  • The project must have no outstanding invoices.
  • The project must have no active database deployments. To learn how to view your project's invoices, see View or Download Your Invoices.
Warning

Terminating a cluster also deletes any backup snapshots for that cluster. See Snapshot Schedule.

To terminate an Atlas cluster:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Database Deployments page is not already displayed, click Databases in the sidebar.
2
3

To terminate an Atlas serverless instance:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. If it is not already displayed, select your desired project from the Projects menu in the navigation bar.
  3. If the Database Deployments page is not already displayed, click Databases in the sidebar.
2
3

Atlas executes the terminate operation after completing any in-progress deployment changes.

You can delete a project for an organization either from the organization's Projects view or the project's Project Setting view:

Note

If you are the only Organization Owner in an organization, you must promote another member to Organization Owner before you can leave an organization.

1
  1. Expand the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. Click View All Organizations.
2

For the organization you wish to leave, click its Leave button to bring up the Leave Organization dialog.

3
Note

To delete an organization, you must have the Organization Owner role for the organization.

You cannot delete an organization that has active projects. You must delete the organization's projects before you can delete the organization.

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select your desired organization from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Organization Settings icon next to the Organizations menu.
2

This displays the Delete Organization dialog.

3

Once you delete all active database deployments, projects, and organizations, you are no longer billed for any Atlas activity and no longer receive Atlas alerts.

Important

Once you delete your account there's no way to recover it.

You can't reuse the email address that is associated with the deleted account to create a new Atlas account.

1
  1. Click your name in the top right corner of the Atlas UI.
  2. Click Manage your MongoDB Account.
  3. Click Profile Info in the left navigation panel.
2
3
  1. Acknowledge the implications of deleting your Atlas account.
  2. Click Confirm Account Deletion.
Note

If there are any requirements you have not yet met, you are prompted to complete them before deleting your account.

4

You are prompted to verify your identity:

  • If you use MFA, you are prompted verify your identity with your chosen MFA authentication method.
  • If you use Google SSO, MongoDB sends a code to your email address. Use that code to verify your identity. Accounts that use Google SSO are automatically unlinked as part of the account deletion process.
  • If you don't have MFA configured and don't use Google SSO, you are prompted to re-verify your password. Then, MongoDB sends a code to your email address. Use that code to finish verifying your identity.

Your account is deleted.

←  View Activity FeedRestrict MongoDB Support Access to Atlas Backend Infrastructure →
Give Feedback
© 2022 MongoDB, Inc.

About

  • Careers
  • Investor Relations
  • Legal Notices
  • Privacy Notices
  • Security Information
  • Trust Center
© 2022 MongoDB, Inc.