Note
This page applies to both Atlas Infinite and Atlas Core.
Atlas offers an optional backup subscription for Free clusters (M0). When you enable backups for a Free cluster, Atlas takes daily snapshots of the cluster and retains the last four snapshots.
Atlas bills $0.10 per day for each Free cluster with backups enabled, up to a maximum of $3.00 per month per cluster. To learn more, see Free Cluster Backups.
Important
Backups for Free clusters are available as a private preview. The feature and corresponding documentation might change at any time during the preview. Atlas rolls out the preview gradually, so you might not see the option to enable backups for your Free cluster.
Limitations
Custom policies are not supported for Free cluster snapshots. Atlas takes a single daily snapshot at the same time each day.
If you require finer-grained backups, consider upgrading to an
M10or larger cluster tier.On-demand snapshots are not supported for Free clusters.
You can't restore Free cluster snapshots to a sharded cluster. You can only restore Free cluster snapshots to replica sets.
Backup Snapshot Storage Locations
The following table indicates where Atlas stores Free cluster snapshots:
Cluster Location | Snapshot Storage Location |
|---|---|
Australia | Australia |
Germany | Germany |
Hong Kong | Australia |
India, Singapore, Taiwan | Asia |
USA | USA |
All other cluster locations | Ireland |
Enable Backups for a Free Cluster
You can enable backups for a Free cluster from several places in the Atlas UI:
From the Backups section of the project overview, click Add daily backups.
From the cluster's Backup page, click the option to enable backups.
From the cluster overview, next to the Backup: Inactive indicator, click the option to enable backups and follow the prompts.
When you create or upgrade a cluster, toggle on Add Backups in the tier selection screen.
After you enable backups, Atlas begins taking daily snapshots and billing the subscription.
Note
Your organization must have a payment method on file to enable backups. If it doesn't, Atlas prompts you to add one during enablement.
Paused Clusters
If your Free cluster is paused, Atlas pauses backups and subscription billing. When you resume the cluster, backups and billing resume automatically.
If you delete a paused Free cluster that has backups enabled, Atlas deletes the snapshots and cancels the subscription.
View and Restore Snapshots
Atlas displays snapshots for your Free cluster on the cluster's Backup page. You can restore a snapshot to the same Free cluster or to another Free cluster in the same organization. You can also restore a snapshot to a Flex cluster or Dedicated cluster in the same organization, or download a snapshot to a local machine.
To restore or download a snapshot, see Restore from a Scheduled or On-Demand Snapshot.
Cancel the Backup Subscription
You can cancel the backup subscription at any time. When you cancel, Atlas immediately stops taking snapshots, deletes existing snapshots, and stops billing for the subscription.
To cancel the subscription, open the menu on the cluster's Backup page and select the option to cancel. You can also turn off backups in the cluster configuration's Additional Settings section.
If you delete a Free cluster that has backups enabled, Atlas immediately stops taking snapshots and cancels the subscription. Atlas removes your access to existing snapshots and deletes them within 24 hours.
Learn More
To learn how Atlas bills Free cluster backups, see Free Cluster Backups.
To learn about backups for other cluster tiers, see Flex Cluster Backups and Back Up Your Cluster.
To learn about Free cluster capabilities and limits, see Atlas Free Cluster Limits.