An organization can contain multiple projects (previously referred to as groups). Under this hierarchy structure:
- Billing happens at the organization level while preserving visibility into usage in each project.
- You can view all projects within an organization.
- You can use teams to bulk assign organization users to projects within the organization.
When you create an organization, you are added as an
Organization Owner for the organization.
You have the option of adding a new Cloud Manager organization or a new Atlas organization. For more information on Cloud Manager see the documentation.
To leave an organization, at least another user must exist as an Owner for the organization.
You must have the
Organization Owner role for an
organization to rename it.
To delete an organization, you must have
Organization Owner role for the organization.
You can't delete an organization that has active projects. You must delete the organization's projects before you can delete the organization.
You can't delete an organization with outstanding payments. To learn more, see Troubleshooting Invoices and Payments.