EVENTGet 50% off your ticket to MongoDB.local NYC on May 2. Use code Web50! Learn more >

Back to Trust Center

ISO/IEC 27001:2013
MongoDB's ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification is a result of an independent third party audit, which examines the development and implementation of an information security management system (ISMS) to achieve continuous management of security in a comprehensive manner.

What is ISO/IEC 27001:2013?

ISO/IEC 27001:2013 is a globally recognized standard mandating numerous controls for the establishment, maintenance, and certification of an information security management system (ISMS). It is part of the ISO/IEC 27000 family of information security standards. The last version of the ISO/IEC 27001 standard was published in 2013, with a few minor updates since then.

Is MongoDB Cloud ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certified?

Yes, MongoDB Cloud has achieved ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification. This includes MongoDB Atlas, Atlas App Services, MongoDB Atlas Data Lake, Atlas Serverless, Cloud manager, and MongoDB Charts

What is the scope of ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification for MongoDB?

The scope of the ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification for MongoDB is limited to the Information Security Management System (ISMS) covering the documented policies, procedures and controls managed by the MongoDB Cloud globally distributed workforce, in accordance with the Statement of Applicability, version 2.0 dated April 20, 2020. The ISMS preserves the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of the end-to-end Customer Sensitive Information (CSI) flows, as these relate to the MongoDB Cloud, which is hosted in AWS, GCP, and Azure, and comprises MongoDB Atlas, MongoDB Realm, MongoDB Atlas Data Lake, MongoDB Charts, MongoDB Cloud Manager, and MongoDB Atlas Serverless Database. Any products or features that are in beta, preview, or similar are not in scope.

The departmental scope includes Cloud Engineering, Technology Operations, Technical Services Support, Data Lake Engineering, Charts Engineering, Professional Services, Product, HR, Legal, Procurement and the CISO (Security and GRC) organizations.

The MongoDB ISMS is centrally managed out of the MongoDB Inc. headquarters in New York, United States of America.

The MongoDB Atlas cloud service offering is hosted on multiple third-party Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) environments, which are not included in the scope of this ISMS.

Do MongoDB Atlas hosting providers have ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification?

MongoDB Atlas is hosted on Amazon Web Services (AWS), Google Cloud Platform (GCP), and Microsoft Azure, which have each achieved ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification. More information about the ISO/IEC 27001:2013 compliance for these providers is available at their respective websites:

Where can I download the ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certificate for MongoDB?

The ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certificate for MongoDB is available here.

Are there separate certifications for ISO 27017 or ISO 27018?

ISO 27017 and ISO 27018 are incorporated into MongoDB's ISO 27001 certification. More information:

Who performs the independent third-party audit of MongoDB for ISO/IEC 27001:2013?

Schellman and Company, LLC.