Docs Menu

Create a Cluster

On this page

  • Atlas for Government Considerations
  • Procedure
  • Next Steps

MongoDB Atlas for Government-managed Atlas deployments, or "clusters", can be either a replica set or a sharded cluster. This tutorial walks you through creating a replica set.

  • AtlasGov clusters must be tier M20 or higher.
  • You must designate projects for either standard or government (gov) region usage upon creation. You cannot deploy clusters across government and standard regions in the same project. AWS is the only cloud provider for AtlasGov.

To deploy a cluster in MongoDB Atlas for Government:


Click the Context drop down in the top left corner to select the project in which to deploy your cluster.

See also: Atlas documentation

To learn more about creating and managing organizations and projects, see Manage Organizations and Manage Projects.


From the Cloud Provider & Region section, you can also choose to deploy your cluster across multiple regions. Multi-region clusters can better withstand data center outages and may contain dedicated geographic regions for localized reads, thereby improving performance.


You cannot deploy clusters across government and standard regions.

See also: Atlas documentation

To learn more about multi-region clusters, see High Availability and Workload Isolation Options.


The selected tier dictates the memory, storage, and IOPS specification for each data-bearing server [1] in the cluster.

MongoDB Atlas for Government clusters support Cluster Auto-Scaling. When auto-scaling is enabled, AtlasGov automatically scales your cluster tier, storage capacity, or both in response to cluster usage. Consider enabling auto-scaling to allow your cluster to adapt to your current workload and reduce the need to make manual optimizations.

  • Cluster storage scaling automatically increases your cluster storage capacity when 90% of disk capacity is used. This setting is on by default to help ensure that your cluster can always support sudden influxes of data.
  • Cluster tier scaling automatically scales your cluster tier up or down in response to various cluster metrics. You must manually opt-in to cluster tier scaling.

    When you enable cluster tier scaling, you set:

    • A maximum cluster tier to which your cluster can automatically scale up, and
    • (Optional) A minimum tier to which your cluster can scale down.
See also: Atlas documentation

To learn more about selecting appropriate cluster tier and storage settings for your workload, see Select Cluster Tier and Customize Cluster Storage.


This is the cluster name as it appears in MongoDB Atlas for Government. You cannot change the cluster name once AtlasGov deploys the cluster.


Click Create Cluster below the form to deploy your cluster.

[1] For replica sets, the data-bearing servers are the servers hosting the replica set nodes. For sharded clusters, the data-bearing servers are the servers hosting the shards. For sharded clusters, AtlasGov also deploys servers for the config servers; these are charged at a rate separate from the cluster costs.

To access your cluster, you must allow your IP address.

←  Create a ProjectAdd Your Connection IP Address to IP Access List →
Give Feedback
© 2022 MongoDB, Inc.


  • Careers
  • Investor Relations
  • Legal Notices
  • Privacy Notices
  • Security Information
  • Trust Center
© 2022 MongoDB, Inc.