Docs Menu
Docs Home
/ /
Atlas CLI
/ /

atlas deployments delete

On this page

  • Syntax
  • Arguments
  • Options
  • Inherited Options
  • Output
  • Examples

Delete a deployment.

The command prompts you to confirm the operation when you run the command without the --force option.

Deleting an Atlas deployment also deletes any backup snapshots for that cluster. Deleting a Local deployment also deletes any local data volumes.

To use this command, you must authenticate with a user account or an API key with the Project Owner role.

Command Syntax
atlas deployments delete [deploymentName] [options]
Name
Type
Required
Description
deploymentName
string
false
Name of the deployment that you want to delete.
Name
Type
Required
Description
--force
false
Flag that indicates whether to skip the confirmation prompt before proceeding with the requested action.
-h, --help
false
help for delete
--projectId
string
false
Hexadecimal string that identifies the project to use. This option overrides the settings in the configuration file or environment variable.
--type
string
false
Type of deployment. Valid values are ATLAS or LOCAL.
-w, --watch
false
Flag that indicates whether to watch the command until it completes its execution or the watch times out. To set the time that the watch times out, use the --watchTimeout option.
--watchTimeout
uint
false
Time in seconds until a watch times out. After a watch times out, the CLI no longer watches the command.
Name
Type
Required
Description
-P, --profile
string
false
Name of the profile to use from your configuration file. To learn about profiles for the Atlas CLI, see https://dochub.mongodb.org/core/atlas-cli-save-connection-settings.

If the command succeeds, the CLI returns output similar to the following sample. Values in brackets represent your values.

Deployment '<Name>' deleted
# Remove an Atlas deployment named myDeployment after prompting for a confirmation:
atlas deployments delete myDeployment --type ATLAS
# Remove an Atlas deployment named myDeployment without requiring confirmation:
atlas deployments delete myDeployment --type ATLAS --force
# Remove an Local deployment named myDeployment without requiring confirmation:
atlas deployments delete myDeployment --type LOCAL --force
← atlas deployments connect