BLOGAnnounced at MongoDB.local NYC 2024: A recap of all announcements and updates — Learn more >

Noodoe以AWS和GCP平台MongoDB Atlas為核心 進軍全球電動車充電樁管理市場

產業

能源管理產業

產品

MongoDB Atlas

使用案例

多雲策略

公司成立時間

2013年
介紹

Noodoe坐穩全球電動車充電樁管理市場龍頭寶座

Noodoe 幫助世界各地的公司提供電動汽車充電服務,在充電軟硬體設備持續進步下,Noodoe願景是為全球各地停車場提供最佳 EV 充電體驗。 除了自有品牌的充電站外,Noodoe 還支持其他充電器製造商,包括 ABB、BTC Power、Delta、EVBOX、Tritium、Joint Tech、ZEROVA (PHIHONG子公司),並且在全球範圍內發展迅速。Noodoe 成立於 2013 年,在台灣、美國和加拿大等國家均享有盛譽,亦已成功進軍英國、澳洲、新加坡、泰國、菲律賓、印尼、中東等其他國家。Noodoe 也活躍於充電點運營商市場,幫助新供應商提供符合開放式充電點協議 (OCPP) 的 EV 充電服務。

根據Noodoe軟體開發部經理陳彥名觀察,近幾年各大車廠紛紛推出電動車, 讓電動車價格持續降低,帶動全球全球消費市場的強大需求。隨著越來越多的充電站如雨後春筍般湧現,對這些充電站的管理也成為人們關注的焦點。

「美國是發展電動車速度最快、市場最大的國家,所以我們選擇從美國市場出發,作為公司進軍全球充電樁管理的第一步。充電樁管理市場競爭相當激烈,我們必須同時滿足充電樁業者、電動車車主等需求,因此需要一套能處理大量非結構化的資料庫,才能比競爭對手更快進入創新。在市面上眾多方案中,只有運用MongoDB Atlas建構穩定、可靠的營運的基礎架構,才能扮演我們搶攻全球商機的最佳後盾。」

Noodoe軟體開發部經理 陳彥名

Noodoe軟體開發部經理 陳彥名

挑戰

強化應用服務穩定性 進軍能源管理市場最大利器

隨著全球對於節能減碳議題日益重視,各國政府紛紛透過政策鼓勵業者發展電動車,市面上也出現愈來愈多電動車充電樁。看準多數充電樁製造業者對於軟體開發領域並不擅長,於是Noodoe於是決定切入充電樁管理市場,並於2018年於美國成立分公司,搶攻此波龐大的商機。考量到業務成長速度難以預料,公司一開始就選擇將應用服務放在雲端平台上,以便能為專注在核心業務研發與業務推廣上。

回顧2018年,Noodoe研發團隊在專案初期為縮短開發時程,讓App能盡快在Android、iOS平台上,於是採用Firebase軟體套件,搭配 Firestore、Elasticsearch等工具。儘管此種軟體開發組合,確實能在最短時間內讓充電樁管理服務上線,只是沒有考量到大量資料管理與儲存的問題,以至於該服務正式啟用沒多久,就發生每個月都會出現一次資料庫當機的問題,導致充電樁資料無法傳送到管理後台。

根據陳彥名分享,當資料庫發生當機後,充電樁便無法提供任何服務,至少會帶來兩大層面的影響。首先,電動車車主會因為App停止運作,以至於無法使用充電樁。其次,各充電樁品牌業者也無法從後台系統中,掌握各地的充電樁運作狀態。

「初期我們是透過重新啟動系統方式解決,只是隨著此種事情已持續發生數個月以上,對公司形象、業務推廣都帶來極大影響,所以2019年我們決定從可靠度、可擴充性等角度,尋找市面上合適的產品,最後中選擇AWS平臺上的MongoDB Atlas。」他說

解決方案

開發國際充電市場有成 MongoDB Atlas扮演幕後功臣

為搶攻國際充電樁管理商機,Noodoe分別在 2018年、2021年於美國、澳洲成立分公司,至今已累積豐富的全球客戶經驗,能對應不同國家對於充電軟硬體開發及整合之需求。在產品開發上更推出多元充電應用,包含負載平衡、需量反應 (ADR)、智慧排程、充電漫遊(eRoaming)、車主/會員充電方案、雲端訂閱服務、車隊管理、儲能設備整合等,且持續開發新功能中。

陳彥名指出,「當時我們在尋找NoSQL解決方案時,首先是考量到團隊人員有限,所以是要希望該解決方案需具備全託管服務、Web操作介面,並能提供處理器、記憶體使用狀況、索引等分析功能,以便能降低資料庫的維運負擔。其次,由於公司服務據點遍佈全球,所以該解決方案也必須同時具備全球化的服務,確保不同地方消費者都能享有同樣的服務。考量到公司的業務快速增長與持續增長的運營需求,MongoDB Atlas能提供絕佳的靈活性和可擴展性,可滿足未來的業務需求,所以最終選擇以AWS平臺上的MongoDB Atlas,取代使用多時的資料庫。」

事實上,早在2018年Noodoe就引進AWS平臺上的MongoDB Atlas,在其他服務進行PoC測試,整體穩定性讓專案團隊非常滿意。所以當充電樁管理服務出問題,且遲遲無法解決下,研發團隊才會決定改用穩定度、可靠度都通過認證的MongoDB Atlas,並在2019年啟動進行資料轉移的工作。

對Noodoe開發團隊而言,引進MongoDB Atlas之後帶來好處非常多,首先是NoSQL搭配Node.js之後,可有效提升專案開發速度,且後台工程師僅需一套資料庫即可滿足所有需求。其次,在資料處理速度方面,也能透過 time series collection機制,自動收集充電樁產生的大量資料,且能運用read only replica功能開啟Zstd壓縮傳輸,縮短資料傳輸時間與節省頻寬,滿足資料收集與分析之用。

陳彥名說,在前面提到種種優點之外,更重要之處在於整體服務穩定性獲得大幅改善,再也不會發生因為資料庫當機問題,導致充電樁管理服務中斷的問題。如此一來,開發團隊可專心在新功能開發、系統架構優化等功能上,全力協助搶攻全球充電樁管理的市場商機。

此外,Noodoe為讓全球各地電動車車主能以更方便方式尋找充電樁,也在引進MongoDB Atlas服務之後,在APP中加入地圖的功能,運用MongoDB Atlas Search,提供模糊搜尋的功能。車主只需在APP中輸入大概的路段或充電站名稱,就查詢到各種相關的充電樁位置,能大幅縮短尋找充電樁的時間。

「過往APP中尋找充電樁服務時,採用MongoDB Search,我們發現同時間使用人數較多時,到會影響到資料庫的效能。所以若要在APP中結合地圖服務,進一步提供全文檢索、模糊搜尋功能時,勢必需要搭配其他工具協助。而MongoDB Atlas Search能免去複雜資料轉移工作,且可維持資料庫原有效能,自然成為我們的首選,讓開發團隊能在最短時間內推出此項服務。」

Noodoe APP開發經理 胡家瑋

展望未來

活用MongoDB優點 持續擴大業務範圍

由於 Noodoe在充電樁管理累積非常多經驗,也獲得非常好的客戶評價,所以也吸引富邦產險上門合作,共同推出富邦Noodoe CAR服務。車主只要在車上安裝專屬智慧感測器,即享受到該感測器提供「自動紀錄停車地點」、「個人行車日誌」、「偵測重大事故,自動聯繫緊急聯絡人,並傳送 GPS 定位」,甚至到「無紙化出險流程與「道路救援服務」等。考量到台灣金融法規需求下, 資料必須存放在台灣境內之中,所以Noodoe選擇使用GCP平臺上 的MongoDB Atlas服務,為公司發展多雲策略啟動第一步。

另外,Noodoe也已經參與美國能源部的充電樁管理標案,由於美國能源部對應用服務使用的軟體審核非常嚴苛,必須符合相關軟體採購規範,而MongoDB Atlas已經取得美國聯邦政府的法規認證,成為Noodoe的最大競爭利器。

隨全球電動車數量愈來愈多,可預期未來充電軟體服務收入將呈現幾何級數成長,目前Noodoe 在全球已擁有近 10 家快速成長的 CPO 合作夥伴,預計2026 年將達 20 家以上。此外,Noodoe EV OS 雲端充電服務技術也將支援到全球100 個以上的國家,使全球大步邁向電動車化、零碳排的轉變更為簡單。

「台灣主管機關已經開放金融、醫療等產業的資料存放在雲端平台上,前提是資料中心則必須在台灣境內,所以我們認為GCP平台將會成為台灣客戶首選。所以除與富邦產業的合作案之外,可預期未來會有更多服務會採用GCP平台,而MongoDB Atlas服務支援多雲平台的特性,將成為公司發展創新業務、擴大營運規模的基石。」陳彥名說

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.

BLOGAtlas Vector Search voted most loved vector database in 2024 Retool State of AI report — Read more >>

Noodoe Leverages MongoDB Atlas on AWS & GCP as Core Database to Crack the Global Market of EV Charging Station Management

INDUSTRY

Energy Management

PRODUCT

MongoDB Atlas

USE CASE

Multi Cloud Strategy

CUSTOMER SINCE

2013
INTRODUCTION

Noodoe Continues to Lead the Global Market of EV Charging Station Management

Noodoe helps companies around the world deliver EV charging. Fuelled by research and development of charging software and hardware, Noodoe’s vision is to introduce the best EV charging experience to parking lots across the world. Beyond its own charging stations, Noodoe supports other charger manufacturers, including ABB, BTC Power, Delta, EVBOX, Tritium, Joint Tech and ZEROVA (a subsidiary of PHIHONG), and is growing rapidly around the globe. Founded in 2013, Noodoe is well established in Taiwan, the U.S. and Canada. The company is expanding into the UK, Australia, Singapore, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia and the Middle East. Noodoe is also active in the Charge Point Operator market, helping new providers deliver EV charging services that are compliant with Open Charge Point Protocol (OCPP).

According to Yan-Ming CHEN, Software Development Manager at Noodoe, all major auto manufacturers have moved to electric vehicle production in recent years, decreasing the price of EVs and in turn driving up consumer demand across the world. With more and more charging stations springing up, management of these stations is becoming a major focus.

"The U.S. has experienced the fastest growth in electric vehicles with the largest market size. That’s why we chose the U.S. market as the starting point for our journey to expand internationally into charging station management. This is a highly competitive market. We need to balance needs from charging station owners, EV owners and more, a database that can handle a large amount of unstructured data is needed, to ensure faster innovation than competitors. The stable and reliable technology infrastructure that’s powered by MongoDB Atlas, empowers us to seize the global business opportunity," said Yan-Ming CHEN.

"The U.S. has experienced the fastest growth in electric vehicles with the largest market size. That’s why we chose the U.S. market as the starting point for our journey to expand internationally into charging station management. This is a highly competitive market. We need to balance needs from charging station owners, EV owners and more, a database that can handle a large amount of unstructured data is needed, to ensure faster innovation than competitors. The stable and reliable technology infrastructure that’s powered by MongoDB Atlas, empowers us to seize the global business opportunity."

Yan-Ming CHEN, Software Development Manager at Noodoe

Yan-Ming CHEN, Software Development Manager with Noodoe

THE CHALLENGE

Enforced Stability of Application Service Becomes our Ace in the Hole to Enter the Energy Management Market

As people around the world are becoming more concerned and conscious about saving energy and reducing carbon emissions, governments are releasing policies to encourage manufacturers to invest more in electric vehicles. As a result, more and more EV charging stations are entering the market. Sensing that most charging station manufacturers are not experts in software development, Noodoe decided to tap into the charging station management market, establishing a U.S branch office in 2018. With the business growing at an unpredictable speed, Noodoe chose to host application services on the cloud platform, so that they could focus on the development of core business and marketing.

In the early stages of the project in 2018, Noodoe’s R&D team adopted a Firebase software bundle to shorten development lead time and to launch an App on Android and iOS platforms, along with tools including Firestore and Elasticsearch. This combination onboarded the charging station management services quickly. However, management and storage of large amounts of data were not prioritized. As a result, the database would crash once a month soon after the service was available, and data on the charging stations failed to be transferred to the back end.

According to Yan-Ming CHEN, when the database crashes, the charging station fails to deliver any service. This leads to significant negative impacts from two perspectives. First, EV owners cannot use a charging station when the App stops responding. Second, charging station owners fail to understand the status of charging stations across various regions from the back-end system.

“At first, we restarted the system to recover from the crash. However, incidents like these kept happening for several months which greatly impacted our corporate image as well as business functioning. So, in 2019, we decided to look for suitable products on the market from the perspectives of reliability and scalability, and finally chose MongoDB Atlas on AWS,” he said.

THE SOLUTION

International Charging Market Penetration with MongoDB Atlas as the Unsung Hero

Noodoe set up branch offices in the U.S. and Australia respectively in 2018 and 2021. With extensive experience in serving clients internationally, Noodoe adapts to the need for development and integration of charging software/hardware in many different countries. Recent product developments include the release of multi-purpose charging applications which cover load balancing, Automated Demand Response (ADR), smart scheduling, eRoaming, a charging plan for EV owners/members, cloud subscription service, fleet management, and energy storage device integration.

"When we were looking for a NoSQL solution, we gave full consideration to our small team and sought out a fully managed service with a Web interface. We also required processors and analytical features, like memory usage and indexing to reduce the operational burden on our databases. Given we have sites all over the world, we needed a global solution with the same services that are accessible to all consumers in different regions,” Yan Ming CHEN said “Considering the rapid growth of the company's business and the continuous growth of operational requirements, MongoDB Atlas is a good fit to provide excellent flexibility and scalability to meet future business needs, so we finally chose MongoDB Atlas on AWS to replace the previous database" he said

Noodoe introduced MongoDB Atlas on AWS in 2018 after carrying out a proof of concept comparison against other services and MongoDB’s overall stability left the expert team quite satisfied. When the charging station management service went down and couldn't be fixed in time, the R&D team turned to MongoDB Atlas because stability and reliability was assured. They then commenced data migration in 2019.

For Noodoe’s R&D team, the introduction of MongoDB Atlas brought many benefits, including speeding up the development of projects when NoSQL is used with Node.js, and back-end engineers can meet all needs with a single database. Also, when it comes to data processing speeds, a large amount of data generated by the charging station can be gathered automatically with a time series collection mechanism. Zstd compression transfer can be enabled with read only replica, which shortens the time it takes to transfer data and saves bandwidth when gathering data and analysis.

According to Yan-Ming CHEN, the most important benefit is that the overall stability of the service improved significantly.

“There are no more database crashes and no further disruption to charging station management services. This is freeing up our R&D team to focus on developing new features, system architecture optimization and so on. We are now firing on all cylinders to assist in seizing the international market opportunity for charging station management,” he said.

In addition,to make it easy for EV owners globally to locate charging stations, Noodoe added a map in its APP after introducing MongoDB Atlas. With the help of MongoDB Atlas Search, fuzzy search is now available to all. Simply by typing in the probable route or name of the charging station in the APP, owners can access location information about various charging stations, dramatically reducing the time it takes to locate a charging station.

Jia-Wei HU, APP development manager with Noodoe, explained that MongoDB Search was previously used in APP to help locate the charging stations. But they noticed a decrease in database performance when there were many simultaneous users.

“To integrate a map service in the APP that provides full-text search, fuzzy search and more, we needed to equip other tools as well. MongoDB Atlas Search saved us the trouble of complex data migration whilst maintaining database performance. So it's definitely the best choice for us and helped our R&D team roll out this service in record time,” Jia-Wei HU said.

“To integrate a map service in the APP that provides full-text search, fuzzy search and more, we needed to equip other tools as well. MongoDB Atlas Search saved us the trouble of complex data migration whilst maintaining database performance. So it's definitely the best choice for us and helped our R&D team roll out this service in record time.”

Jia-Wei HU, APP development manager at Noodoe

LOOKING TO THE FUTURE

Make the Most of MongoDB's Features and Continue Business Expansion

Extensive experience in charging station management and positive feedback from customers continue to win Noodoe more business opportunities. For example, Fubon Insurance approached Noodoe to co-develop the Fubon Noodoe CAR service. Owners can enjoy many services after installing a dedicated smart sensor on their vehicles. The sensor automates recording of parking locations, personal driving logs, detection of major accidents, automatic contact with emergency contacts, and GPS positioning transmission, as well as paperless claim processing and road rescue services. Considering the requirements of Taiwan's financial regulations, data must be stored in Taiwan, so Noodoe chose MongoDB Atlas on GCP to start the first step for the company to develop a multi-cloud strategy.

Noodoe recently became a bidder for charging station management projects by the U.S. Department of Energy. With MongoDB Atlas accredited by the U.S federal government gives Noodoe confidence they have a competitive edge to secure this work.

With a widespread adoption of EVs globally, it's anticipated that revenue for charging software services will experience exponential growth. Noodoe is currently working with 10 fast-growing CPO partners, and this number is projected to exceed 20 by 2026. Noodoe EV OS cloud charging technology is set to reach 100+ countries, making it easier for all providers to shift to electrification and zero carbon emissions.

"The Taiwanese authorities have allowed related parties to host data from finance, health care and other industries on cloud platforms, provided that such data centers are based in Taiwan. So we believe that the GCP platform will be preferred by Taiwanese clients. Our partnership with Fubon is just the starting point. It's anticipated that more services will adopt GCP and MongoDB Atlas service is available on multi-cloud, making it a cornerstone for companies to innovate in business and expand their operations," Yan-Ming CHEN concludes.

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.