Docs Menu
Docs Home
/
MongoDB Compass
/

Favorite Connections

On this page

  • Save a Favorite Connection
  • Edit a Favorite Connection
  • Delete a Favorite Connection
  • Considerations

Compass allows you to save MongoDB connection configurations to easily reconnect to the same MongoDB deployment using the same specifications.

Note

Starting in version 1.39.2, MongoDB Compass no longer supports migrating from legacy connection files that pre-date version 1.31.0. Legacy connections refer to an internal Compass connection-options format that is stored on disk and no longer supported after version 1.39.0.

If you have legacy connections saved in your favorites, export the connections on version 1.39.0 to convert them into the new format before updating to version 1.39.2 or later.

You can save a favorite connection from the initial connect screen, or after you have successfully connected to a MongoDB deployment.

1
2
3
4
5
1
2
3
4
1

To Copy connection string, Duplicate, or Remove a Favorite Connection, hover over the target connection and click the button.

  • Copying a connection string saves the connection string to your clipboard.

  • Duplicating a connection creates another Favorite Connection with the same configuration.

  • Removing a connection deletes that Favorite Connection.

2

When you make any change to a connection, a dialog will appear at the bottom of the form with options Discard and Save Changes.

3
1
2

Compass displays a dropdown menu with options Copy and Remove.

3

Compass removes the connection from the Favorites list and returns the New Connection form to the default state.

  • On macOS systems, the first time that you update MongoDB Compass to version 1.20 or later, you will need to allow access to your system storage for each saved connection in Recents and Favorites. To learn more, see Allow Keychain Access for Recent and Favorite Connections.

  • If you run MongoDB Compass on KDE Linux, you must have GNOME Keyring installed to successfully load saved connections. The Electron module Keytar uses GNOME Keyring to securely store the database credentials for your connections.

Back

Advanced Connection Tab

Next

Export and Import Saved Connections