Blog
{Blog}  See what’s new with MongoDB 6.0 — and why you’ll want to upgrade today >>

Kronos 運用 MongoDB Atlas Charts 每天在加密貨幣市場進行數十億美元交易

產業

以技術和科學為導向的交易公司

產品

MongoDB Atlas
Atlas Charts

使用案例

分析及改進演算法模型

公司成立時間

2018
簡介

全球加密貨幣高頻交易領域的頂尖企業

總部位於台北的 Kronos Research (麒點科技) 是一家成立於 2018 年的技術導向型交易公司。該公司一直走在技術和市場的前端,透過對加密貨幣高頻交易 (HFT) 進行量化研究,在新市場中居於領先地位。

HFT 是一種交易方法,使用功能強大的電腦程式快速處理大量訂單,有時只需幾分之一秒。HFT 使用複雜的演算法分析多個市場,然後根據市場情況來執行訂單。比起執行速度較慢的交易商,執行速度最快且最準確的交易商通常能賺取更多的利潤。自 1980 年代以來,高頻交易一直用於傳統的資本交易,並在 2000 年代初期廣受歡迎。

Kronos Research 是為加密貨幣和衍生性金融商品交易開發 HFT 的領導者。健全的交易和研究基礎架構是 Kronos 的核心所在。透過此基礎架構,全球頂尖的研究員能夠建置、測試和交易先進的機器學習/人工智慧模型 (已基於大量專有市場資料進行訓練),以便抓住最佳獲利機會 。Kronos 將這些受過訓練的模型稱為交易機器人。

該公司的策略使得績效能超越整體市場,並透過以下方式預測價格:

  • 應用先進的機器學習技術,來識別出可獲利且可重複的市場現象,而這些現象通常無法透過傳統人力的方式來識別
  • 建置並設計能夠極快速且準確運作的內部系統
  • 使用完備的運作套件來控制風險、防止交易錯誤,並可確保在劇烈波動期間也能採取正確的操作

憑藉著這種方法,Kronos 的規模已經從 2018 年一開始在台北的兩個人,發展成為如今由 80 多名企業家、量化研究員、交易員、工程師和科學家組成的團隊,公司據點遍及台北、上海、新加坡和波蘭。

挑戰

如何在預測智慧的競賽中獲得優勢

傳統證券硬體環境一直是實體資料中心,為了減少延遲,在位置上盡可能鄰近實際交易所。在現代市場中,加密貨幣交易所本身就在雲端,因此需要一種不同的方法讓高頻交易員實際上與此類交易所的距離更近。

與傳統 HFT 基礎架構截然不同的是,Kronos 的所有生產基礎架構都在雲端。對於雲端基礎架構的選擇,會受限於交易所使用哪種基礎架構。

為了能夠最快速地取用資料,絕大部分交易由 Kronos 在 AWS 中進行,因為大多數交易所都選擇 AWS。Kronos Research 透過利用實際接近交易所的 AWS 區域和可用性區域,確保高頻交易所需的低延遲。透過使用 AWS 的機器學習處理工具,Kronos Research 可每天節省 4 到 5 小時,從而能夠將其新訓練模型更快推向市場。

不同的交易策略具有不同的參數集和配置,量化研究員需要對其進行優化。配置和參數資料在結構上不像市場資料那樣殭化,例如買入價/賣出價和交易。有些機器人可能有 20 個配置或鍵值對,而其他機器人可能只有 6 個。因此,Kronos 的量化研究員需要一種有效儲存配置和參數資料的方法。他們還需要一種方法來分析配置是如何隨時間改變,以及它們是如何更新和選取的。

Kronos 一直使用一般檔案,這是一種快速簡便的解決方案,但並未提供進行量化資料分析所需的功能。

此外,Kronos 的許多團隊成員同時擁有多樣炙手可熱的技術 (例如資料工程、開發和交易),因此讓他們來升級和佈建資料庫不僅是學非所用、效率低落,而且成本高昂。

解決方案

MongoDB Atlas Charts 協助 Kronos 快速更新其模型和參數

為了更有效儲存及使用參數資料,Kronos 開始使用免費版 MongoDB,但後來轉而使用 MongoDB Atlas,以充分利用其原生圖表功能。

Charts 是一款資料視覺化工具,可以輕鬆建立、分享及嵌入 Atlas 和 Atlas Data Federation 的視覺化內容。使用 Charts,Kronos 團隊只需按幾下滑鼠便能輕鬆建立包含多個圖表的儀表板。此外,Charts 儀表板會自動更新,因此研究員可以即時檢視資料。

Hank Huang,Kronos 技術長

Kronos 技術長 Hank Huang 闡述了具有圖表功能的 MongoDB 如何融入公司的研究。

Hank 表示:「Kronos 將 MongoDB 用於更高階資料的後期研究。我們使用 MongoDB 來取得特定策略的配置資料,以及這些配置的模擬結果。MongoDB 大幅簡化了研究工作量的最後一個環節。Atlas Charts 讓我們的研究員能夠將不同的關係視覺化,並調整交易機器人的刻度表,而無需額外的 ETL,也不必移動資料。」

「Kronos 將 MongoDB 用於更高階資料的後期研究。我們使用 MongoDB 來取得特定策略的配置資料,以及這些配置的模擬結果。MongoDB 大幅簡化了研究工作量的最後一個環節。Atlas Charts 讓我們的研究員能夠將不同的關係視覺化,並調整交易機器人的刻度表,而無需額外的 ETL,也不必移動資料。」

Hank Huang,Kronos 技術長

「我們的團隊成員使用 MongoDB 來繪製結果 (依配置) 與比特幣價格變化之間的關係圖,或用來查看截面圖,它可以回答類似『在特定的一天,不同配置的損益結果分佈如何?』這樣的問題。這是 MongoDB Atlas 協助我們完成日常工作的一個範例。」

MongoDB Charts 協助 Kronos 輕鬆處理資料

Hank 表示:「我們都在談論量化資料,其優勢在於如何快速更新模型和參數,以及如何針對瞬息萬變的市場情況選擇正確的參數。我們使用 MongoDB Atlas 來更深入瞭解這些因素,這為我們節省了大量的時間和腦力。」

在 Kronos 的整個團隊致力於改進交易系統之際,量化研究員 Veronica Jiang 和資深量化研究員 Yi-Yung Chen 每天都在使用 MongoDB,以下將由他們來現身說法使用 MongoDB 的好處。

上圖:Veronica Jiang,Kronos 量化研究員

Veronica 表示:「我們現在按一個按鈕就能建立資料庫,並在幾分鐘內將資料視覺化,而我們以前的解決方案需要幾個小時才能辦到。有時候,資料量非常龐大。但是 MongoDB 從未發生停機事件,所以我不必擔心資料遺失。」

Yi-Yung 也表示,比起其他資料庫,儲存資料會更輕鬆。舉例來說,MongoDB Atlas 會即時追蹤關鍵資源利用率指標,並根據需要擴增或縮減叢集規模。

他還說:「自動擴充功能非常有用,因為我們需要運算能力。自動擴充連結讓我們能夠快速升級機器來獲得更強大的運算能力。」

Yi-Yung 還提到了 MongoDB 的其他一些實用功能,包括安全性和電子郵件警示。

「安全性是另一件至關重要的大事。我們以前將資料儲存在本機伺服器上,所以我們很難從其他地方存取所需的資料。自從在雲端中部署 MongoDB 後,我們可以從任何地方存取資料。」

他表示:「如果我們建立索引的效率不彰,MongoDB 就會以電子郵件通知我們,並提供改進建議。」

Yi-Yung Chen,Kronos 資深量化研究員

成果展現

演算法模型的快速分析和更高的交易準確性刺激了成長

快速擷取和處理大量資料的能力是充分利用市場機會的關鍵所在。MongoDB Atlas 加速了資料分析流程,讓我們可以對交易模型進行快速變更。因此,Kronos 平均每天能夠交易 50 億美元,迄今為止的最高交易金額達 230 億美元。

除了 Charts 功能之外,MongoDB Atlas 是一種受到完整管理的服務,因此開發人員不必花時間佈建、擴充或管理部署。

MongoDB 是一款高效能資料庫,在同時操作方面,其演算法讀取效能和 PNL 求和的速度比 MySQL 快十倍,這是衡量 HFT 環境中速度和準確性的關鍵指標。

Kronos 已經在內部成立了一個資料團隊,並計劃擴大資料範圍,容納更多不同來源的資料,同時不斷改進其交易演算法。在公司持續成長的過程中,MongoDB Atlas 將繼續發揮重要作用。

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.

Blog
{Blog}  See what’s new with MongoDB 6.0 — and why you’ll want to upgrade today >>

MongoDB Atlas Charts Enables Kronos to Trade Billions on Crypto Markets Every Day

INDUSTRY

Technology and Science-Driven Trading Firm

PRODUCT

MongoDB Atlas
Atlas Charts

INITIATIVE

Analyze and improve algorithmic models

CUSTOMER SINCE

2018
INTRODUCTION

The Forefront of High-Frequency Trading in Crypto

Based in Taipei, Kronos Research is a science and technology-driven trading firm established in 2018. The company has been at the forefront of technology and markets, leading in new markets by applying quantitative research for high-frequency cryptocurrency trading (HFT).

HFT is a trading method that uses powerful computer programs to transact a high volume of orders quickly, sometimes in fractions of a second. Using complex algorithms, HFT analyzes multiple markets and executes orders based on market conditions. Traders with the fastest and most accurate execution speeds usually generate more profit than those with slower ones. High-frequency trading has been used in traditional equities trading since the 1980s and grew in popularity in the early 2000s.

Kronos Research is a leader in developing HFT for cryptocurrency and derivatives trading. Robust trading and research infrastructure is at the heart of Kronos. This enables world-class researchers to build, test, and trade advanced machine learning/AI models trained on large volumes of proprietary market data to capitalize on the best opportunities. Kronos refers to these trained models as trading bots.

The firm’s strategies outperform the market and predict prices by:

  • Applying advanced machine learning techniques to identify profitable and repeatable market phenomena that are usually not visible to the human eye
  • Building and designing in-house systems to operate extremely quickly and accurately
  • Using an extensive operations suite to control risk, prevent trading errors and ensure correct behavior even during severe turbulence.

As a result of this approach, Kronos has grown from two people in Taipei in 2018 to a team of over 80 entrepreneurs, quantitative researchers, traders, engineers and scientists located in Taipei, Shanghai, Singapore and Poland.

THE CHALLENGE

How to gain an edge in the race for prediction intelligence

The hardware environment for traditional securities has been in physical data centers that were as close as possible to the actual exchanges to limit latency. In modern markets, crypto exchanges are natively in the cloud, so it requires a different approach for high-frequency traders to be physically located close to them.

Compared to traditional HFT infrastructure, a big difference is that all of Kronos’s production infrastructure is in the cloud. The choice of cloud infrastructure is limited by what the exchanges are using.

To be closest to the data, most of the trading by Kronos is in AWS because of its popularity with exchanges. By leveraging AWS Regions and Availability Zones that are physically close to the exchanges, Kronos Research can maintain the low latency required for high-frequency trading. By using AWS's machine learning processing tools, Kronos Research was also able to save 4 or 5 hours each day to shorten its time-to-market for new training models.

Different trading strategies have different sets of parameters and configurations that quantitative researchers need to refine. The configuration and parameter data are not as structurally rigid as market data, i.e., bid and ask prices and trades. Some bots might have 20 configurations or key-value pairs, while others might only have six. So quantitative researchers at Kronos needed a way to efficiently store the configuration and parameter data. They also needed a way to analyze how configurations change over time and how they have been updated and selected.

Kronos had been using flat files, which was a quick and easy solution, but it didn’t provide the capabilities they needed for quantitative data analysis.

In addition, many of the team members of Kronos have combinations of high-value skills – such as data engineering, development and trading – so having them upgrade and provision databases was disruptive, inefficient and expensive.

THE SOLUTION

MongoDB Atlas Charts enables Kronos to quickly update its models and parameters

To more efficiently store and use parameter data, Kronos began using the free version of MongoDB, but then switched to MongoDB Atlas to take advantage of its native charting capabilities. Charts is a data visualization tool that makes it easy to create, share, and embed visualizations from Atlas and Atlas Data Federation. Using Charts, the Kronos team can easily create dashboards with multiple charts in just a few clicks. Charts dashboards also update automatically, so researchers get a real-time view of data.

Hank Huang, Kronos CTO

Hank Huang, Chief Technology Officer at Kronos, explained how MongoDB, with its charting capabilities, fits into the firm’s research.

“Kronos uses MongoDB for the later stages of research around higher-level data,” Hank said. “We’re using MongoDB for configuration data for specific strategies and the simulation results for those configurations. MongoDB greatly simplifies the final part of the research workload. Atlas Charts enables our researchers to visualize the different relationships and adjust the dials for trading bots without additional ETL or data movement.”

“MongoDB greatly simplifies the final part of the research workload. Atlas Charts enables our researchers to visualize the different relationships and adjust the dials for trading bots without additional ETL or data movement.”

Hank Huang, Kronos CTO

“Our team members use MongoDB to chart the relationships between the results by configuration to a price change for Bitcoin or looking at a cross-section, it could answer something like, ‘On a given day, what’s the distribution of profit and loss results across the different configurations?’ This is an example of what MongoDB Atlas enables us to do.”

Dashboard of MongoDB Charts in action with Kronos

“If we’re talking about quant data, the edge is in how quickly you can update your models and parameters and how you can select the right parameter for changing market conditions. We use MongoDB Atlas to give us more insight into these factors, which saves us a lot of time and brainpower,” Hank said.

While the entire team at Kronos works to improve the trading system, Quantitative Researcher, Veronica Jiang, and Senior Quantitative Researcher, Yi-Yung Chen, use MongoDB daily and explain the benefits.

Above: Veronica Jiang, Kronos Quantitative Researcher

“You can create a database with a click of a button and visualize data in minutes compared to hours with our previous solution,” Veronica said. “Sometimes, the amount of data is huge. But there’s no downtime with MongoDB, so I don’t need to worry about losing data.”

Yi-Yung noted the ease of storing data compared to other databases. For example, MongoDB Atlas tracks key resource utilization metrics in real-time and adjusts cluster sizes up or down as needed.

“Auto-scaling is very useful because we need computation power,” he said. “The auto-scale link enables us to upgrade the machine quickly to gain much greater computation power.”

Yi-Yung mentioned MongoDB’s other helpful features, including security and email alerts.

“Security is another important thing. We previously stored data on a local server, so it was hard to access data anywhere when we needed it. With MongoDB in the cloud, we can access data anywhere.”

“If we don’t create our index efficiently, we get an email from MongoDB that gives us recommendations for improvement,” he said.

Yi-Yung Chen, Kronos Senior Quantitative Researcher

THE RESULTS

Fast analysis of algorithmic models and increased transaction accuracy spurs growth

The ability to quickly retrieve and process high volumes of data is the key to capitalizing on market opportunities. MongoDB Atlas accelerates the data analysis process to enable quick changes to trading models. As a result, Kronos is able to trade US$5 billion per day on average, with a top day so far of US$23 billion.

In addition to the Charts features, MongoDB Atlas is a fully managed service so developers don't have to spend time provisioning, scaling or managing the deployment.

As a high-performance database, MongoDB is ten times faster than MySQL in the algorithm read performance and PNL summation in the range of simultaneous operation, critical measures of speed and accuracy in HFT environments.

Kronos has formed a data team in-house and plans to broaden the data horizon, allow data from more sources, and continually improve its trading algorithms. MongoDB Atlas will continue to play a part in the firm’s continuing growth.

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.