Back to Trust Center

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) applies to all entities that store, process, and/or transmit cardholder data. The MongoDB Atlas cloud service has been validated as a PCI compliant service provider by K3DES LLC, an independent Qualified Security Assessor (QSA).

What is PCI DSS?

PCI DSS is an information security standard developed by the PCI Standards Security Council, and applies to all entities that store, process, and/or transmit cardholder data.

Is MongoDB Atlas PCI DSS certified?

Yes, MongoDB Atlas has achieved PCI DSS 3.2.1 certification as of August 23rd, 2019.

I am a PCI DSS merchant. Can I store cardholder data on MongoDB Atlas?

Yes. MongoDB Atlas is a PCI DSS certified service provider. Depending on a customer’s selection, MongoDB Atlas runs MongoDB on Amazon Web Services (AWS), Google Cloud Platform (GCP), and/or Microsoft Azure, which are each PCI DSS compliant. More details about PCI DSS compliance for these cloud providers can be found on their respective websites:

If I use MongoDB Atlas for storing, processing, and/or transmitting cardholder data, will I be automatically compliant with PCI DSS?

No. Customers must manage their own PCI DSS compliance certification, and additional testing will be required to verify that your environment satisfies all PCS DSS requirements. However, for the portion of the PCI cardholder data environment (CDE) in MongoDB Atlas, your Qualified Security Assessor (QSA) can rely on MongoDB’s Atlas Attestation of Compliance (AOC) without further testing.

Where can I download the PCI DSS certificate for MongoDB Atlas?

The MongoDB Atlas PCI Attestation of Compliance (AOC) is available upon request. Please contact us for more information.

Which security features can help towards my PCI DSS compliance?

There are several features available in MongoDB Atlas that may help towards PCI DSS compliance, including:

Who is the Qualified Security Assessor (QSA) for MongoDB?

K3DES LLC is the independent QSA for MongoDB.