BLOGAnnounced at MongoDB.local NYC 2024: A recap of all announcements and updates — Learn more >

什么是检索增强生成 (RAG)?

为生成式人工智能提供支持的大型语言模型 (LLM) 是令人惊叹的工程和科学杰作,在创造或生成新事物的同时具有推理能力。 不过,要使 LLM 对您的特定生成式人工智能应用或项目发挥作用,您需要确保向它提供您自己的相关数据。 虽然 LLM 令人印象深刻,但每个人都有访问权限。 因此,您的超能力差异化来自于向他们提供您的数据 - 这就是检索增强生成 (RAG) 让我们具备这样的能力。

目录:

大型语言模型或基础模型是无所不知的通用模型,但是对专有的最新信息缺乏了解。

大型语言模型 (LLM) 和基础模型是一种人工智能 (AI),可以生成和理解多模态数据(即文本、代码、图像、视频、音频、表格)。 它们接受过海量数据集的训练,可用于各种任务,包括翻译、编写不同类型的创意内容、创作视频和音乐、以翔实的方式回答您的问题等等。

尽管 LLM 似乎提供了获得所有世界知识的机会,但它们有一些局限性。 其中一个局限性是它们生成的输出并不总是准确或最新的。 这是因为 LLM 接受的数据培训已经过时、不完整或缺乏有关特定使用案例或领域的专有知识。此外,LLM 有时会产生有偏见或令人反感的输出。LLM 的另一个局限性是它们难以从现实世界中获取和操纵知识。 这是因为 LLM 通常使用合成或基于文本的数据进行训练。 因此,LLM 可能不太了解世界是如何运作的,也不知道如何将所学知识应用于现实世界的问题。

该图显示了一个不使用 RAG 的 LLM 驱动型应用程序的示例。
检索增强生成提供上下文的最新数据,使 LLM 发挥作用。

检索增强生成是一种技术,通过让 LLM 获取上下文最新数据来解决 LLM 的局限性。 RAG 实施(有时称为 RAG 模型或模式)通过将预先训练的 LLM 与可随时获取的信息检索系统相结合而发挥作用。 检索系统负责从知识库(例如数据库)中查找相关信息。 RAG 模型使 LLM 或基础模型能够根据手头任务的最新相关背景生成更准确的答案。

RAG 模型经证明对各种知识密集型任务有效,包括:

  • 语言生成任务,例如以全面和翔实的方式回答问题,或生成不同的创意文本格式的文本内容,例如诗歌、剧本、音乐作品、电子邮件、信件等。
  • NLP 任务,例如提供对话摘要、录音和视频通话。
  • 需要分类的任务,如网络安全和合规,或推理任务,如业务规划

RAG 还可用于让生成式人工智能应用观察某些背景状态,并据此调整其生成。 例如,可以根据用户正在编写的代码来写入代码。 其他例子包括:

  • 应用程序上下文。 假设您正在构建一个由人工智能驱动的 Excel 助手——如果它知道您的工作表名称、文件名、选定的单元格区域等信息,就会有所帮助。RAG 会将这些“背景活动信息”输入到提示符中,这样 LLM 就能为您的工作表提供量身定制的帮助。
  • 个人数据(例如 代理协助聊天机器人)。 假设您正在制作一个客户支持机器人。 该机器人可以提取该特定客户以前的对话和 CRM 历史记录,以帮助定制对话(不仅是问候,还包括自定义选项等)。 没有这些历史记录,LLM 将无法有效地进行个性化设置或帮助解决现有问题。
  • 原始数字、指标、表格数据(例如 CSV、Parquet、JSON 等)。 RAG 不仅限于处理文本上下文,还包括定量信息。 Business Intelligence (BI) 聊天机器人肯定会对原始表格数据进行破坏。
  • 其他多模态数据类型,如图像、视频和音频。 许多模型,例如 DALL-E 2,都可以利用文本来创建或增强图像。 相反,它们可以将图像或视频合成自然语言。 通过为某些图像提供上下文或设计外形规格,RAG 可以使 GenAI-apps 在创建营销资产或从包含内容非常具体、信息密集的视频中生成摘要和翻译时变得更加强大。

检索增强生成对于无法合并为训练数据的数据也很有用

  • 高波动性/时效性数据:股市新闻等数据很快就会过时。 因此,更有意义的做法是仅使用最新信息来增强 LLM,最好是在推理过程中每次请求时都使用最新信息,而不是尝试使用该语料库来重新训练 LLM。
  • 敏感数据:许多表现最佳的 LLM(例如 OpenAI 的 GPT 或 Anthropic 的 Claude)都按使用量付费,归这些公司所有。 在训练数据时使用个人敏感信息来微调这些 LLMS 可能会导致私人数据泄露,并且具有潜在危险。 因此,有时 RAG 是唯一安全的选择。
RAG 的主要使用案例。

基于以上所述,RAG 最合适的使用案例包括:

  • 针对任何外部领域知识进行问题解答,例如公司特定的文档和知识库、实时操作系统、后台系统等:顾名思义,使用 LLM 处理 LLM 知识范围之外的任何数据都需要 RAG。 此外,在高度时间敏感且瞬息万变的环境中提问和回答,数据很快就会过时,因此无法通过微调将其集成到 LLM 中。
  • 减少幻觉,提高事实准确性:一般来说,即使在回答有关 LLM 训练语料库中信息的问题时,RAG 也能提高事实准确性。 这是因为 RAG 将问答任务变成“开卷测验”任务,这比无限制的问答任务更容易。
  • 个性化是 RAG 的典型用例。 在这种情况下,提示符会增加用户数据。 可以选择在插入提示符之前对任何 PII 数据进行擦除。
  • 提供上下文答案(在 Co-Pilot 内部)。 正如 Github co-pilot 所示,基于应用程序状态(当前文档、整个项目元数据、当前正在访问哪个 URL 或页面等),LLM 各代可能会更具相关性
  • 任何适用于高度特定领域上下文的 GenAI-app。 示例包括医疗保健、金融服务、法律调查以及科学和工程。 在这些领域中,训练数据通常很稀少,因此 RAG 对于构建有用的 GenAI 应用程序至关重要。
为什么要使用检索增强生成? 在构建生成式人工智能应用程序时,有哪些方法可以替代 RAG。
在构建生成式人工智能应用程序时,有许多方法可以替代 RAG。 一些最受欢迎的替代方案包括:
  • 训练您自己的 LLM:虽然可能有理由训练您自己的 LLM,但要用现有的许多商用(OpenAI GPT)和开源模型(Meta 的 LLaMa)来创造任何具有竞争力的东西,可能过于昂贵和耗时。
  • 对现有 LLM 进行微调:这是一种在较小的特定任务数据集上重新训练预训练 LLM 的技术。 微调可以有效地提高 LLM 在特定任务上的性能,但也可能既耗时又昂贵。 微调永无止境——随着新数据的出现,必须再次对模型进行微调。 当您的 GenAI 应用程序需要访问实时运营数据时,微调将无法满足您的需求。
为什么要通过微调 LLM 来检索增强生成?
  • 微调是使用“自定义数据”的 LLM 的另一种方法,但与 RAG 不同的是,RAG 就像是给 LLM 做开卷测验,而微调就像是赋予它全新记忆或做脑叶切除术。 微调可以量身定制模型,这样您就可以改变其性能、行为、成本分布等。这需要大量的时间和资源,通常无法将 LLM 建立在特定的环境中,尤其不适合企业的实时运营数据。
基本 RAG 架构的核心构建块。
一个基本的检索增强生成架构由三个主要组件组成:
  • 经过预训练的 LLM:LLM 负责生成文本、图像、音频和视频。
  • 矢量搜索(或语义搜索):检索系统负责从 LLM 外部的知识库中查找相关信息。 有多种通用数据库或单一用途矢量数据库可供选择,它们可以存储矢量嵌入并针对它们运行近似的最近邻搜索查询。 矢量搜索是能够精确增强提供给通用 LLM 的专有知识的核心。
  • 矢量嵌入:有时简称为“矢量”或“嵌入”,矢量嵌入本质上是捕获一段数据的语义或根本含义的数字表示。 一般来说,它们是一个浮点数组,其中每个浮点数代表数值表示形式的一个维度。
  • 编排:融合机制负责将 LLM 的输出与来自检索系统的信息相结合,以生成最终输出。

下图显示了基本的 RAG 架构,其零售示例与之前相同:

利用检索增强生成功能,在生成式人工智能应用中使用大型语言模型。
作为缺少特定域上下文的解决方法,检索增强生成按如下方式执行:
  • 我们从包含最新产品目录的数据库(通常是带有矢量搜索的数据库)中获取最相关的产品描述
  • 然后,我们将这些描述插入(增强)到 LLM 提示符中
  • 最后,我们指示 LLM 在回答问题时“参考”这些最新的产品信息
以上需要考虑的三件事:
  • 检索增强生成是一种纯粹的推理时间(无需重新训练)技术。 上述第 1-3 步都在推理时间内完成。无需对模型进行任何更改(例如 修改模型权重)。
  • 检索增强生成非常适合 LLM 生成的实时自定义。 由于不涉及重新训练,并且一切都是通过上下文学习完成的,因此基于 RAG 的推理速度很快(低于 100 毫秒的延迟),并且非常适合在实时操作应用程序中使用。
  • 检索增强生成使 LLM 生成更加准确和有用。 每次上下文更改时,LLM 都会生成不同的响应。 因此,RAG 使得 LLM 生成取决于检索到的任何上下文。
保持 RAG 的简单性,将其复杂性降到最低,但又能在一定规模上可靠地执行。

要实现高性能且复杂性最低的 RAG 架构,首先要选择正确的系统。 在为 RAG 实施选择系统或技术时,选择能够实现以下目标的多个系统或一个系统非常重要:

  • 支持新的矢量数据需求,而不会给您的 IT 运营带来巨大的无序扩张、成本和复杂性。
  • 确保构建的生成式人工智能体验能够以最低延迟访问实时数据。
  • 能够灵活地适应新的数据和应用程序要求,并允许开发团队在此过程中保持敏捷。
  • 最好让开发团队将整个人工智能生态系统与他们的数据结合起来,而不是相反。

选项范围从单一用途矢量数据库到具有本机矢量功能的文档和关系数据库,以及数据仓库和 Lakehouse。 但是,单一用途的矢量数据库将立即增加扩展性和复杂性。 数据仓库和 Lakehouse 本质上是为对历史数据进行长时间运行的分析类型查询而设计的,而不是 RAG 支持的 GenAI 应用程序的高容量、低延迟和新鲜数据要求。 此外,relational database 带来了严格的模式,限制了轻松添加新数据和应用程序需求的灵活性。 这使得文档数据库具有原生或内置的矢量功能。 特别是,MongoDB 建立在灵活的文档模型之上,并具有本机矢量搜索,使其成为 RAG 的矢量数据库以及适用于任何现代应用程序的行业领先数据库。

通过 RAG 实施中的附加功能,将法学硕士的力量提升到一个新的水平。

除了核心组件外,还可以在RAG实现中添加许多其他功能,以将LLM的强大功能提升到一个新的水平。 其中一些附加功能包括:

  • 多模态:多模态 RAG 模型可以生成基于文本和非文本数据的文本,例如图像、视频和音频。 将这种多模态数据与实时操作数据并排存储使得 RAG 实施更易于设计和管理。
  • 在矢量搜索查询中定义附加过滤器:在同一矢量查询中添加关键字搜索、地理空间搜索以及点和范围过滤器的功能,可提高向 LLM 提供的上下文的准确性和速度。
  • 特定域:特定域的 RAG 模型可根据特定域(如医疗保健或金融)的数据进行训练。 这样,RAG 模型就能为该领域生成更准确、更相关的文本。
在进行全球化时,确保您的生成式人工智能应用程序安全、高效、可靠、可扩展。

在进行全球化时,可以采取多种措施来确保使用 RAG 构建的 GenAI 应用程序安全、高性能、可靠且可扩展。 其中包括:

  • 使用安全且具有适当数据治理功能的平台:数据治理是一个广义的术语,包括为确保数据安全、私密、准确、可获取和可用所做的一切。 这包括围绕数据生命周期的流程、策略、措施、技术、工具和控制。 因此,平台默认情况下应是安全的,具有端到端加密功能,并达到最高级别的合规性。
  • 使用基于云的平台:除了基于云的平台提供的安全性和可扩展性功能之外,主要的云提供商也是人工智能基础架构的一些领先创新者。 选择与云无关的平台使团队能够在任何地方利用人工智能创新。
  • 使用可以将矢量工作负载基础架构与其他数据库基础架构隔离的平台:重要的是,常规 OLTP 工作负载和矢量工作负载不共享基础架构,以便这两个工作负载可以在针对各自优化的硬件上运行,并且不会争用资源,同时仍然能够利用相同的数据。
  • 使用经过规模验证的平台:提供商声称自己可以扩展是一回事,但它是否有与全球企业客户合作的历史和跟踪记录? 它是否具有关键任务容错能力和水平扩展能力,能否用客户实例来证明?

遵循这些提示,就有可能利用 RAG 架构构建安全、高性能、可靠和可扩展的、由 GenAI 驱动的应用程序。

随着Atlas Vector Search的引入,MongoDB 领先的开发者数据平台为团队提供了矢量数据库,支持构建可大规模执行的复杂、高性能 RAG 架构。 所有这一切同时保持最高水平的安全性和云不可知论,最重要的是,不会增加复杂性和不必要的成本。

开始使用 MongoDB Atlas

免费试用

BLOGAnnounced at MongoDB.local NYC 2024: A recap of all announcements and updates — Learn more >

What is retrieval-augmented generation (RAG)?

Large language models (LLMs) that power generative AI are amazing pieces of engineering and science, with an ability to reason as they create or generate something new. However, to make an LLM useful for your specific generative AI-powered application or project, you need to make sure you are feeding it with your own relevant data. While LLMs are impressive, everyone has access to them. So your superpower differentiation comes from feeding them with your data - and that is what retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) enables us to do.

Table of contents:

Large language models, or foundation models are all-knowing general purpose models, but they lack knowledge of proprietary, up to date information.

Large language models (LLMs) and foundation models are a type of artificial intelligence (AI) that can generate and understand multimodal data (i.e., text, code, images, video, audio, tables). They are trained on massive datasets and can be used for a variety of tasks, including translation, writing different kinds of creative content, composing videos and music, answering your questions in an informative way, and a whole lot more.

While LLMs seem to have given access to all world knowledge, they have some limitations. One limitation is that they can generate outputs that are not always accurate or up-to-date. This is because LLMs are trained on data that has since become outdated, incomplete, or lacks proprietary knowledge about a specific use case or domain. Additionally, LLMs can sometimes generate output that is biased or offensive.

Another limitation of LLMs is that they have difficulty accessing and manipulating knowledge from the real world. This is because LLMs are typically trained on data that is synthetic or text-based. As a result, LLMs may not have a good understanding of how the world works, or how to apply their knowledge to real-world problems.

The image shows an example of an LLM-powered application that does not use Retrieval-Augmented Generation.
Retrieval-augmented generation provides contextual, up to date data to make LLMs useful.

Retrieval-augmented generation is a technique that addresses the limitations of LLMs by providing them with access to contextual, up-to-date data. RAG implementations, sometimes referred to as RAG models or patterns, work by combining a pre-trained LLM with a retrieval system of readily accessible information. The retrieval system is responsible for finding relevant information from a knowledge library, such as a database. The RAG models enable the LLM, or foundation model, to generate a more accurate answer with up-to-date and relevant context to the task at hand.

RAG models have been shown to be effective for a variety of knowledge intensive tasks, including:

  • Language generation tasks like answering questions in a comprehensive and informative way, or generating different creative text formats of text content, like poems, scripts, musical pieces, email, letters, etc.
  • NLP tasks like providing summaries of conversations, audio recordings and video calls.
  • Tasks requiring classification such as cybersecurity and compliance or reasoning for things like business planning

RAG can also be used to allow a generative AI powered application to observe some background state, and tailor its generations accordingly. An example would be the ability to write code based on the code that a user is writing. Other examples include:

  • Application context. Say you are building an AI-powered Excel assistant - it’d help if it knows the names of your sheets, filename, selected cell ranges, etc. RAG will feed this “background activity info” into the prompt so that the LLM can tailor its help to your sheet.
  • Personal data (e.g. agent assist chatbot). Say you are making a customer support bot. The bot can pull in previous conversation and CRM history for that specific customer to help tailor the conversation (not just greeting, but customizing the options, etc). Without this history, the LLM won’t be able to perform personalization effectively or help with existing issues.
  • Raw numbers, metrics, tabular data (e.g. CSV, Parquet, JSON etc). RAG is not limited to working with textual context, but quantitative information as well. A business intelligence (BI) chatbot would certainly be doing RAG on raw tabular data.
  • Other multimodal data types like images, video and audio. Many models, such as DALL-E 2, can leverage text to create or augment images. Conversely, they can synthesize images or video into natural language. By having context to certain images, or design form factors, RAG can make GenAI-apps more powerful when it comes to creating marketing assets or generating summarizations and translations from videos that contain very specific, context-heavy information.

Retrieval-augmented generation is also useful for data that can’t be incorporated as training data

  • High volatile / time-sensitive data: data such as stock market news quickly becomes stale. Therefore, it makes more sense to enhance the LLM with only the latest up to date information, ideally at each request during inference time - as opposed to attempting to retrain LLMs with this corpus.
  • Sensitive data: Many of the top performing LLMs (such as OpenAI's GPT or Anthropic's Claude) are pay per use and owned by those companies. Using personal, sensitive information in training data to fine tune those LLMS can lead to private data leakage and is potentially dangerous. Thus, sometimes RAG is the only safe option.
Primary use cases of RAG.

Based on the above, the most suitable use cases of RAG include:

  • Question answering over any extrinsic domain knowledge such as company-specific documentation and knowledge bases, live operational systems, back office systems, etc: by definition, using LLMs with any data outside of LLM’s knowledge cutoff requires RAG. Additionally, question and answering over highly time sensitive and fast-changing context - data that gets outdated quickly are impossible to integrate into LLMs via fine tuning.
  • For reducing hallucinations and increasing factual accuracy: generally speaking, RAG can improve factual accuracy even for answering questions about information contained within the LLM’s training corpus. That’s because RAG turns the question answering task into an “open-book quiz” task, which is easier than an unbounded question answering task.
  • Personalization is a canonical use case for RAG. In this case, the prompt is augmented with user data. Optionally, any PII data could be scrubbed prior to being inserted into the prompt.
  • Providing contextual answers (inside Co-Pilots). As Github co-pilot demonstrates, LLM generations can be more relevant when grounded on the application state (the current document, the overall project metadata, which URL or page is currently being visited, etc)
  • Any GenAI-app that works with highly domain specific contexts. Examples include healthcare, financial services, legal discovery, and science and engineering. In these sorts of domains, training data is often sparse and so RAG is essential to build useful GenAI apps.
Why retrieval-augmented generation? What are the alternatives to RAG when building Generative AI applications.
  • Train your own LLM: While there could be justification for training your own LLM, it’s likely going to be far too expensive and time consuming to create anything competitive with the many commercial (OpenAI GPTs) and open source models (Meta’s LLaMa) available.
  • Fine-tuning an existing LLM: a technique where a pre-trained LLM is retrained on a smaller dataset of task-specific data. Fine-tuning can be effective for improving the performance of an LLM on a specific task, but it can also be time-consuming and expensive. Fine-tuning never ends – as new data becomes available, so the model has to be fine tuned again. When your GenAI app demands access to live operational data, fine tuning is not going to work for you.
Why retrieval-augmented generation over fine tuning an LLM?
  • Fine tuning is another way to use LLMs with “custom data”, but unlike RAG which is like giving a LLM an open book quiz, fine tuning is like giving it entirely new memories or a lobotomy. Fine tuning tailors the model so that you can change its performance, behavior, cost profile, etc. It’s time and resource intensive and is generally not viable for grounding LLMs on specific context, and is especially unsuitable for live, operational data from your business.
The core building blocks of a basic RAG architecture.
A basic retrieval-augmented generation architecture consists of three main components:
  • A pre-trained LLM: The LLM is responsible for generating text, images, audio, and video.
  • Vector search (or semantic search): The retrieval system is responsible for finding relevant information from a knowledge base that is external to the LLM. There are a variety of general purpose databases or single-purpose vector databases to choose from that can store vector embeddings and run approximate nearest neighbor search queries against them. Vector search is core to being able to precisely augment proprietary knowledge provided to a general purpose LLM.
  • Vector embeddings: Sometimes referred to simply as "vectors" or "embeddings", vector embeddings are essentially numerical representations capturing the semantic, or underlying meaning of a piece of data. Generally speaking, they're an array of floats, where each float represents a single dimension of the numerical representations.
  • Orchestration: The fusion mechanism is responsible for combining the output of the LLM with the information from the retrieval system to generate the final output.

The following diagram shows a basic RAG architecture with the same retail example as before:

A large language model being made useful in a generative AI application by leveraging retrieval-augmented generation.
As a workaround for this lack on domain-specific context, retrieval-augmented generation is performed as follows:
  • We fetch the most relevant product descriptions from a database (often a database with vector search) that contains the latest product catalog
  • Then, we insert (augment) these descriptions into the LLM prompt
  • Finally, we instruct the LLM to “reference” this up-to-date product information in answering the question
Three things to consider from the above:
  • Retrieval-augmented generation is a purely inference time (no retraining required) technique. The above steps 1-3 all happen in inference-time. No changes to the model are required (e.g. modifying the model weights).
  • Retrieval-augmented generation is well suited for real-time customizations of LLM generations. Because no retraining is involved and everything is done via in-context learning, RAG-based inference is fast (sub 100ms latency), and well suited to be used inside real-time operational applications.
  • Retrieval-augmented generation makes LLM generations more accurate and useful. Each time the context changes, the LLM will generate a different response. Thus, RAG makes LLM generations depend on whatever context was retrieved.
Keeping RAG simple with minimal complexity, yet sophisticated to perform reliably at scale.

To achieve a performant, yet minimally complex RAG architecture, it starts with choosing the right systems. When choosing the systems, or technologies, for a RAG implementation, it is important to choose systems, or a system, that can achieve the following:

  • Support new vector data requirements without adding tremendous sprawl, cost, and complexity to your IT operations.
  • Ensure that the generative AI experiences built have access to live data with minimal latency.
  • Have the flexibility to accommodate new data and app requirements and allow development teams to stay agile while doing so.
  • Best equip dev teams to bring the entire AI ecosystem to their data, not the other way around.

Options range from single purpose vector databases, to document and relational databases with native vector capabilities, and data warehouses and lakehouses. However, single purpose vector databases will immediately add sprawl and complexity. Data warehouses and lakehouses are inherently designed for long-running analytical type queries on historic data as opposed to the high volume, low latency and fresh data requirements of the GenAI apps that RAG powers. Additionally, relational databases bring rigid schemas that limit flexibility of adding new data and app requirements easily. That leaves document databases with native, or built-in, vector capabilities. In particular, MongoDB is built on the flexible document model and has native vector search, making it a vector database for RAG in addition to the industry leading database for any modern application.

Taking the power of LLMs to the next level with additional capabilities in your RAG implementation.

In addition to the core components, there are a number of additional capabilities that can be added to a RAG implementation to take the power of LLMs to the next level. Some of these additional capabilities include:

  • Multimodality: Multimodal RAG models can generate text that is based on both text and non-text data, such as images, videos, and audio. Having this multimodal data stored side by side with live operational data makes the RAG implementation more easy to design and manage.
  • Defining additional filters in the vector search query: The ability to add keyword search, geospatial search, and point and range filters on the same vector query can add accuracy and speed to the context provided to the LLM.
  • Domain specificity: Domain-specific RAG models can be trained on data from a specific domain, such as healthcare or finance. This allows the RAG model to generate more accurate and relevant text for that domain.
Ensuring your Generative AI-powered application will be secure, performant, reliable, scalable, when it goes global.

There are a number of things that can be done to ensure that a GenAI-powered application built with a RAG is secure, performant, reliable, and scalable when it goes global. Some of these things include:

  • Use a platform that is secure and has the proper data governance capabilities: Data governance is a broad term encompassing everything you do to ensure data is secure, private, accurate, available, and usable. It includes the processes, policies, measures, technology, tools, and controls around the data lifecycle. Thus, the platform should be secure by default, have end-to-end encryption, and have achieved compliance at the highest levels.
  • Use a cloud-based platform: In addition to the security and scalability features cloud-based platforms provide, the major cloud providers are some of the leading innovators for AI infrastructure. Choosing a platform that is cloud agnostic allows the ability for teams to take advantage of the AI innovations wherever they land.
  • Use a platform that can isolate vector workload infrastructure from other database infrastructure: It is important that regular OLTP workloads and vector workloads do not share infrastructure so that the two workloads can run on hardware optimized for each, and so that they do not compete for resources while still being able to leverage the same data.
  • Use a platform that has been proven at scale: It’s one thing for a provider to say it can scale, but does it have a history and a track record with global, enterprise customers? Does it have mission critical fault tolerance and ability to scale horizontally, and can it prove it with customer examples?

By following these tips, it is possible to build GenAI-powered applications with RAG architectures that are secure, performant, reliable, and scalable.

With the introduction of Atlas Vector Search, MongoDB’s leading developer data platform provides teams with a vector database that enables building sophisticated, performant RAG architectures that can perform at scale. All this while maintaining the highest levels of security and cloud agnosticism, and most importantly, without adding complexity and unnecessary costs.

Get Started With MongoDB Atlas

Try Free