Blog
{Blog}  See what’s new with MongoDB 6.0 — and why you’ll want to upgrade today >>

SHOPLINE 聯手 MongoDB 和 AWS 協助全亞洲 350,000 名商家成功拓展業務

產業

電子商務

產品

MongoDB Atlas

策略新方案

雲端資料策略

客戶自

2019
簡介

協助商家向超過 6.8 億客戶銷售產品

SHOPLINE打造一個複雜資料管理的生態系統,目前是全亞洲最大的智慧商務平台。SHOPLINE 成立於 2013年,已協助超過 350,000 間商家透過電子商務、社交媒體和零售POS與超過6.8億名客戶交易。

憑藉庫存暨銷售管理工具、區域物流、付款閘道、資料分析、店面主題設計和當地客戶支援在內的關鍵功能,商家擁有建構成功線上商店需要的一切。

除了不同的商務需求以外,SHOPLINE 也提供如廣告代理服務、智慧廣告系統、SHOPLINE 付款、SHOPLINE 物流等全方位服務,提供零售商成功需要的一切,支援各地商家成功發展業務。

SHOPLINE 團隊來自包括香港、台北、胡志明市、深圳、廣州、吉隆坡、雅加達、新加坡和曼谷,超過 1500 名員工。

SHOPLINE 提供的服務有三大關鍵主軸

挑戰

從三人團隊到數億名客戶

SHOPLINE 先從 3 人的作業規模開始建構動態平台,託管各式各樣資料並且順應公司成長變化調整。起初他們並不確定服務可能的用法或商家要求如何演變。

但他們知道未來會面對的是商業規模擴大或彈性調整的問題。對零售商來說,確實有些日子極具重要性,例如黑色星期五、11/11 和其他特別日子。SHOPLINE 團隊必須要能新增格外的容量,並且確保零售商的客戶,即使上百萬名購物者同時使用服務,仍能享有順暢無礙的購物體驗。

為了能一開始解決這兩大關鍵組成要素,我們的團隊使用 MongoDB 及其靈活的文件資料模型建構核心服務。 SHOPLINE 的工程總監Ian Chan陳應聰打從一開始就在零售領域,長久以來一直是 MongoDB 的提倡者。

「我們最大的挑戰是在電子商務剛起步時,必須跟上商家需要變更訂單、新增產品或產品變動的步伐,這也代表會有很多不同的資料點,我們因此立即選擇了 MongoDB,因為它在我們面前呈現十足的活力和規模。」Ian說。

Ian Chan陳應聰,SHOPLINE 工程總監

隨著公司不斷地茁壯成長,它的複雜度、規模和地域範疇也不斷成長。這連帶造就更複雜的法規遵從性和安全性。同時Ian的小型開發作業團隊也領悟到,如果缺少額外的支援,他們無法滿足這些所有需求。

於是 2019 年 SHOPLINE 的電子商務成功讓社交商務和 POS 縱向產業得以納入他們的產品方案,甚至讓需要管理和整合的資料來源更加複雜。

部署在 AWS 的 MongoDB Community Version不斷擴大支援他們的業務,但是管理基礎設施本身意味著Ian有限的開發人員團隊正處於崩潰邊緣。當開發人員想要部署新服務或建構新功能時,自我管理也會增加額外的阻力。

根據Ian的說法,除了引發 SHOPLINE 須面臨無法置信的複雜資料基礎設施挑戰以外,SHOPLINE 的第一條黃金法則是「不准停機」。

解決方案

開發人員的自由和關注焦點

為了有助於解決公司的規模問題,他們已經先細分自己的MongoDB部署版圖,這是橫跨多組伺服器分配資料的方法。這有助於確保無縫服務,即使資料集合量非常大和吞吐量極高。

「由於系統愈來愈複雜,新增愈來愈多的資料層,如果我們能使用 MongoDB 分片,那會是一種突破。我們必須對自己的資料庫能藉由增加讀/寫吞吐量、儲存、容量和高可用度,處理負載程度近乎無限增加的情況有足夠的信心,」Ian說。

分片只解決其中一部分難題:規模。為了解決另一個問題,Ian 的團隊希望保留 MongoDB 資料庫的功能和靈活性,但以託管服務方式執行。我們會提供開箱即用的監控、一鍵式更新、無縫部署和維護功能。團隊也希望對他們的資料進行更精準的控制。

所以 2019 年,SHOPLINE 遷移到MongoDB Atlas ,這是完全託管的雲端資料庫服務。由於對如此龐大複雜的基礎架構資料庫層進行變更並不容易,但團隊依然能在零停機情況下遷移。

這項轉變足以讓他們保留一支由五名開發人員組成的精練敬業的團隊,而公司更投入約 500 名人力的工程團隊參與其中。

「捫心自問,我們希望自己的工程師開發功能還是維護資料庫?因此轉移到 Atlas 變成是非常完美的做法。招募有技術能力的人才處理日益複雜的資料基礎設施也會變得困難異常,但我們對 MongoDB 團隊提供全天候的技術支援很有信心,」Ian 解釋著。

AWS 上的 MongoDB Atlas 是 SHOPLINE 的主要作業資料。然後該團隊生活在一個多雲端的世界。他們也和 Google 建立密切的合作夥伴關係,使用 Google 的資料分析工具 Big Query 分析資料。

成果展現

隨時隨地銷售的商家

SHOPLINE 現在擁有 20 多個叢集,分散在 Atlas 上的多重分片區域。此平台為公司提供多項關鍵優勢:

  • 即時 - 監控整個生態系統的運作,讓開發人員更能更新索引、回應問題並停止緩慢的詢答流程。
  • 一流的安全性 - 易於使用的安全性和權限,支援 Google 登入,讓開發人員加密資料並對可以存取或檢視資料的人進行嚴格管控和稽核。
  • 自動縮放 - 可縮放的磁碟管理,輕鬆擴大叢集大小,容納用量並自動歸檔冷資料。對 11/11 類的大型零售日期特別重要。
  • 24/7 支援 – MongoDB 的專業技術支援團隊 24/7 全天候待命,協助您從索引建議到性能分析的一系列動作。
  • 彈性 - 提供備份和恢復到特定分鐘時間的資料,確保絕對不會有任何停機狀況。
  • 快速啟動 - 以往為開發人員新建資料庫,建構或試用新東西需要半天以上的時間,現在只需三分鐘即可完成。
「Atlas 服務能幫助我們節省大量時間、減少商業成本、提供最佳性能,系統始終在運作和執行也能讓我心安。從商家的角度,每延遲一微秒都會讓他們在客戶和銷售方面損失慘重,」Ian說。

隨著 COVID-19 的出現,敏捷性和規模變得更重要,帶動人們回家遠端工作的潮流。SHOPLINE 服務和基礎設施非常適合建構社交商務新時代,能容納數十萬間商家透過影片和社交功能進行直播銷售。功能齊全的平台持續成長並擴及新區域和增加新功能,所有這些都是為了 讓商家無往不利,包括但不限於全方位零售管道、社交商務和跨境銷售

"「我們認為 MongoDB 是 其中一個值得信賴的幕後合作夥伴,能幫助 SHOPLINE 崛起並成為全亞洲最大的線上和線下智慧商務公司,隨著我們持續成長和不斷善用新商機堅守最高安全和法令遵循標準"

Ian Chan陳應聰,SHOPLINE 工程總監

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.

Event
{Event}  Bring a friend (or 2!) and save 50% on passes for MongoDB World! Register now and save >>

SHOPLINE powers 350,000 merchants across Asia on MongoDB Atlas and AWS

INDUSTRY

Ecommerce

PRODUCT

MongoDB Atlas

INITIATIVE

Cloud Data Strategy

CUSTOMER SINCE

2019
INTRODUCTION

Helping merchants sell to over 680 million customers

SHOPLINE is Asia’s biggest smart commerce platform powered by a complex data management ecosystem. Founded in 2013, SHOPLINE has helped over 350,000 merchants reach more than 680 million customers via ecommerce, social commerce and offline point of sale (POS) transactions.

With key features including inventory and sales management tools, regional logistics, payment gateways, data analytics, storefront theme designs and local customer support, merchants have everything they need to build a successful online store.

In addition to different commerce needs, SHOPLINE also provides a full range of services such as Advertising Agency Service, Smart Ads System, SHOPLINE Payments, SHOPLINE Logistics and more to give businesses everything they need to succeed in retail, and support businesses to succeed everywhere.

SHOPLINE employs over 1500 people across regions including Hong Kong, Taipei, Ho Chi Minh City, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Kuala Lumpur, Jakarta, Singapore and Bangkok.

THE CHALLENGE

From a three person team to hundreds of millions of customers

Scaling from a three-person operation, SHOPLINE’s first task was to build a platform that was dynamic, could host a wide variety of data and would adapt to changes as the company grew. Early on, they didn’t know exactly how the service would be used or how merchants' requirements would change.

The next challenge they knew they would face was scaling. For retailers there are certain days which are incredibly important, such as Black Friday, 11/11 and other key events. The SHOPLINE team had to be able to add extra capacity and ensure the retailer's customers had a smooth shopping experience even when millions of shoppers were hitting the servers at the same time.

To address those two key components from the beginning, the team used MongoDB and its flexible document data model to build the core service. Engineering Director at SHOPLINE, Ian Chan, has been with the business from its humble beginnings and has long been an advocate of MongoDB.

“Our biggest challenge when starting out in e-commerce was keeping up with merchants requiring the flexibility to change orders, add new products or product variations, which represented a lot of different data points, and so we immediately chose MongoDB because of the dynamism and scale it gave us,” said Ian.

“we immediately chose MongoDB because of the dynamism and scale it gave us”

Ian Chan, Engineering Director at SHOPLINE

Engineering Director at SHOPLINE, Ian Chan

As the company continued to grow, it also grew in complexity, size and geographic coverage. This led to even more complex compliance and security. At the same time Ian’s small dev ops team realised they couldn't meet all these demands without extra support.

Then, in 2019, SHOPLINE’s e-commerce success had paved the way to include social commerce and POS verticals into their offering which added even more complex data sources to manage and integrate.

MongoDB community, deployed on AWS, was scaling and supporting their business, but managing the infrastructure themselves meant Ian's limited devops team was at breaking point. Self-management also added extra friction when developers wanted to deploy new services or build new features.

According to Ian, above and beyond rising to the challenge of SHOPLINE’s mind boggling complex data infrastructure, the number one golden rule of SHOPLINE is “no downtime permitted”.

THE SOLUTION

Developer freedom and focus

To help address the company's scale, the first step they had taken was to shard their MongoDB deployment, which is a method for distributing data across multiple servers. This helps ensure seamless service, even with very large data sets and high throughput.

“Our ability to embrace sharding with MongoDB was a breakthrough for us as the system became increasingly complicated with more and more layers of data being added. We needed to feel confident our database could handle increased load to a nearly unlimited degree by providing increased read/write throughput, storage, capacity and high availability,” Ian said.

Sharding only solved one part of the puzzle: scale. To address the other piece, Ian's team wanted to retain the power and flexibility of MongoDB's database but run it as a managed service. Something that would provide out of the box monitoring, one click updates, seamless deployments and maintenance. The team also wanted even more granular control of their data.

So in 2019 SHOPLINE moved to MongoDB Atlas, the fully managed cloud database service. While making changes to the database layer of such a large and complex infrastructure is never easy, the team were able to make the migration with zero downtime.

This shift enabled them to retain a lean and dedicated team of five developers, while the business invested in its broader engineering workforce comprising around 500 people.

“We asked ourselves, do we want our engineers to be developing features or maintaining databases? So it made perfect sense to move to Atlas. It was also becoming hard to hire talent with the technical ability to work with our ever increasingly complex data infrastructure, and we have confidence in MongoDB’s team providing technical support working around the clock for us,” Ian explained.

MongoDB Atlas on AWS is SHOPLINE’s primary operational data. However, the team lives in a multi-cloud world. They also have a close partnership with Google and use Google's data analytics tool Big Query for data analytics.

THE RESULTS

Merchants selling anywhere, everywhere and always on

SHOPLINE now has more than 20 clusters spread across multiple shards on Atlas. The platform is delivering a number of key benefits for the company:

  • Real time – operational monitoring of the entire ecosystem which allows developers to easily update indexes, respond to issues and kill slow queries.
  • Best in class security – easy to use security and permissions which support Google login and enable developers to encrypt data as well as strict controls and auditing on who can access or view what data.
  • Automatic scale – scaleable disk management that easily expands cluster size to accommodate usage and automatically archives cold data. Especially crucial around the large retail dates like 11/11.
  • 24/7 support – MongoDB’s professional technical support team is on hand 24/7 to help with everything from index suggestions to performance analysis.
  • Resilience – providing backups and point in time restoration down to the specific minute ensuring confidence there is never any down time.
  • Launch fast – creating a new database for a developer to build or trial something new previously took more than half a day, now it's done in three minutes.
“Having the Atlas service saves us a lot of time, reduces cost to the business, provides optimum performance and gives me peace of mind the system is always on and performing. From the viewpoint of merchants, every microsecond of latency can cost them a lot of money losing customers and sales,” Ian said.

That agility and scale became even more crucial as COVID-19 descended, driving people into their homes and working remotely. SHOPLINE's services and infrastructure were perfectly placed to build the new era of social commerce and was able accommodate hundreds of thousands merchants selling live, via video and social. The fully featured platform continues to grow and expand into new regions and add new capabilities, all on a mission to empower merchants to succeed everywhere, including but not limited to omnichannel retailing, social commerce and cross-border sales.

“We credit MongoDB as one of our trusted partners behind the scenes for helping SHOPLINE rise up to become Asia’s largest online and offline smart commerce company, adhering to the highest standards of security and compliance as we continue to grow and take advantage of new opportunities,” Ian concluded.

“We credit MongoDB as one of our trusted partners behind the scenes for helping SHOPLINE rise up to become Asia’s largest online and offline smart commerce company, adhering to the highest standards of security and compliance as we continue to grow and take advantage of new opportunities,”

Ian Chan, Engineering Director at SHOPLINE

What will your story be?

MongoDB will help you find the best solution.