Webinar: Serverless Architectures with AWS Lambda and MongoDB Atlas

June 01, 2017

2:00pm BST | 3:00pm CEST | 6:30pm IST

It’s easier than ever to power serverless architectures with our managed MongoDB as a service, MongoDB Atlas. In this session, we will explore the rise of serverless architectures and how they’ve rapidly integrated into public and private cloud offerings.

We will demonstrate how to build a simple REST API using AWS Lambda functions, how to create a highly available cluster in MongoDB Atlas, and finally, how to connect those pieces in a secure and scalable manner.

We will then simulate load and show how to use the monitoring features of MongoDB Atlas.

Finally, we will use MongoDB Compass to browse our database.

You'll walk away with an understanding of how to build your first serverless cloud service, backed by a highly scalable database as a service.

This session is aimed at developers that are:

  1. Building modern applications in an environment where fast delivery and agility are critical
  2. Looking to reduce operational overhead so that they can focus on creating functionality for their customers

This session will also include interactive Q&A for you to have your questions answered by the experts.

Ashley Townsend: About the speaker

Based in the London office, Ashley has been a Senior Solutions Architect at MongoDB for just over a year. Prior to MongoDB, Ashley spent a number of years working with Service Management solutions, designing and architecting around ITIL best practices. Before Service Management, he was a software developer at numerous organisations building and supporting emergency services systems such as those you would use if you dialled 999 in the UK. Databases have been involved one way or another throughout Ash’s career and it was “the vast differentiation, improvement and disruption of MongoDB” that lead Ash to the company.