Docs Menu

Docs HomeDevelop ApplicationsMongoDB Manual


On this page

  • Definition
  • Behavior
  • Examples

Sets a single verbosity level for log messages.

db.setLogLevel() has the following form:

db.setLogLevel(<level>, <component>)

db.setLogLevel() takes the following parameters:


The log verbosity level.

The verbosity level can range from 0 to 5:

  • 0 is the MongoDB's default log verbosity level, to include Informational messages.

  • 1 to 5 increases the verbosity level to include Debug messages.

To inherit the verbosity level of the component's parent, you can also specify -1.


Optional. The name of the component for which to specify the log verbosity level. The component name corresponds to the <name> from the corresponding systemLog.component.<name>.verbosity setting:

Omit to specify the default verbosity level for all components.

db.setLogLevel() sets a single verbosity level. To set multiple verbosity levels in a single operation, use either the setParameter command to set the logComponentVerbosity parameter. You can also specify the verbosity settings in the configuration file. See Configure Log Verbosity Levels for examples.


Starting in version 4.2, MongoDB includes the Debug verbosity level (1-5) in the log messages. For example, if the verbosity level is 2, MongoDB logs D2. In previous versions, MongoDB log messages only specified D for Debug level.

Omit the <component> parameter to set the default verbosity for all components; i.e. the systemLog.verbosity setting. The operation sets the default verbosity to 1:


Specify the <component> parameter to set the verbosity for the component. The following operation updates the to 2:

db.setLogLevel(2, "storage.journal" )
← db.serverStatus()