What are you doing to fight off cabin fever right now?

Hello fellow MongoDB’ers!

My family and I are in stay-at-home isolation in the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, USA), wrapping up week three since our state governor declared a state of emergency due to COVID-19. We instantly went from three people at home full time (me, my husband, and our 18 month old) to five people at home full time. Now, I’m managing homeschool for our 10 and 11 year old girls, working on launching some cool digital initiatives to keep our community engaged and growing (more on this soon!), and getting ready to move houses. Needless to say, I’ve been staying busy!

That said, I am also a veteran remote worker and I know the switch to remote work can be incredibly challenging for those who are used to their routines, regular engagement with coworkers, and just generally leaving their home environment on a daily basis. :smirk: But enough about pants…

Tell me about what you’ve been doing to stave off the inevitable cabin fever that comes with being in lock down all day. The first thing we did was download some new games on our Nintendo Switch, including the new Animal Crossing: New Horizons game (and to my dismay, replacing our lost Mario Kart 8 cartridge with a new $60 USD digital download). We’ve also started taking daily family walks around the block, led by the 18 month old, of course. I think we’ll keep this habit once the stay home order is lifted.

How about you? How are you avoiding going stir crazy right now?

P.S. here’s the view from the house I’m moving into tomorrow:

5 Likes

Nice view!
I am one of those that have been preparing for something like this all of their lives. Not really liking going outside, being in a crowded environment and having to socialize much.
And now I get to hang out with the missus all day. I missed that, as we used to spend a lot of time together when we were younger.
So far, I am liking it!

3 Likes