Use case for Wildcard Index on all fields

Hi community,

In the official manual it stated that it’s possible create a wildcard index on all fields.

I’m a newbie about MongoDB, but from what I understand indexes are used especially to improve the speed of read operations on most queried fields of a document but slowling the write operations. So I don’t get in which use cases it’s preferrable create an index on all fields instead to let query uses a complete collection scan.

Hi @viktor_mex

Welcome to MongoDB community

Wild card indexes are meant for specific use case where a query might filter on any one of the fields , but only one. This means index will not assist in compound or more complex queries.

If you know the set of predicts for your application you should create specific indexes.

Read the following for more info

Thanks
Pavel

Hi @Pavel_Duchovny and thank you for the welcome and the response.

I understand the use of wildcard indexes, but I didn’t get the use case of this specific example.

@viktor_mex ,

In this example a product document has some common fields like product_name while the product_attributes sub fields can vary from product to product.

As MongoDB allow a flexible schema we cannot predict upfront all field name possibilities, however with wild card indexes we can capture any field in the document.

Now the application will be required to search based on one attribute name only like “size” or “color” and the documents that have the attributes with corresponding values can use the wild card index this way.

There is another strategy to use attribute schema design where a regular index of keys and values can be utilised

Let me know if that makes sense.

Thanks
Pavel

@Pavel_Duchovny ,

thank you for the insights and the linked post, very helpful resources.

Now if I read again the chapter about wildcard indexes in the MongoDB documentation it’s more clear why and when using wildcard indexes with fields that share a similar path, like: