Need some advice on how to design my database

Hey,

I’m new to MongoDB need some advice on how to design my database (with mongoose).

I want to have multiple documents that each have a user, a date, a type and a number.
Every few minutes the db should be check if any date is smaller than Date.now and if yes, my program do some things with type and user. The second thing that should be checked is if for every type, the number is bigger than another external value I am comparing it to, and if yes, it should do the same thing.

Since the database could get very big and these checks should run every couple of minutes, I want to make sure this thing is as efficient as possible. To achieve this, I thought about storing documents with different users and numbers as subdocuments with a parent that has a unique combination of type and date. These top-level documents should be sorted by date on saving so that only the first document has to be checked for an expired date every time the checks begin and for every other document, only the first subdocument (sorted by the number) has to be checked.

My question is if this is a good idea or if there is any better way to do it. If no, can you explain how I can sort the top-level documents so that I only have to read the first one’s date?

Thank you,
Til

Hi @Til_Weimann,

Welcome to MongoDB community!

Based on the very high level description provided here it sounds like your documents could have 2 potential structures:

1. Bucket data by dates , although not sure what should be the boundaries of each document (min/hour or day). It mostly depands on how many user embedded documents are expected to be located in the array. We do not recommend arrays growing beyond of 1000 elements per document.
    Once you bucket the data you can index inner user and/or type subdocs to have filtering ability by a type or user.