I wanted to implement “The extended reference pattern” but I have questions about the implementation

hey,

I am new with MongoDB and I would like to have your help in the implementation of my schema, I have 2 collections User and Order, it’s One-to-Many Relationships.

After reading about different schemas I understood I wanted to implement “The extended reference pattern” but I have questions about the implementation.

I understood that this pattern means to embed only part of the data from the collection but still have a separate collection with all the data.

in my case, I want to embed the email field from the User collection(separate class, not embedded document class) in the Order collection as a field.

first, I am not sure I understood the implementation of this pattern, does it means to have 2 classes, in my case- one class that is the User which is not EmbeddedDocument and another class that is EmbeddedDocumnet only with the fields I want them to be and that will probably will not change.

second, if it does like that, in my case it seems unnecessary because I have only one field I wish to embed, so should I just need to add a new regular field called email in the order class?
I’m a little confused about how this pattern is actually implemented and how should I implement it.
In the user collection, I have other fields that may change frequently so I didn’t wanna use the reference field.

thanks for any help!

Hi @meshi_biton ,

Welcome to MongoDB community.

I am not completely certain what do you mean by embedding classes as it depends on your logic and framework who perform the eventual write of data to embed the details of a user into the order collection.

However, it make sense to take the immutable or rarely frequency updated fields and place them into the many collection.

In your case I would expect something like:

order collection

{
_id : ... , 
Items : [ ... ],
User : { userId : ... , Email : ... }
}