Help with a profit chart - some fields are "null"

Hi everyone, I’m very new to Mongodb, and I been getting familiar with the charts, queries and aggregations. I want to create a profit chart that will have a simple formula (Revenue - Cost).

But, not all documents have a Revenue field, so I guess they have a null value for Revenue, I guess I need to convert the null values = “0”. I need this to be grouped by day in the chart. This is the code I was trying to use, but, it was not returning anything in the chart. the field “profittest” is being create but with no values it seems. Appreciate any help in advance :smiley:

[
{
    $match: { 
      $Revenue: { $ne: null },
      $Cost: { $ne: null },   
    },
  },
  {
    $group: {
      _id: {},
      TotalRevenue: { $sum: "$Revenue" },
      TotalCost: { $sum: "$Cost" }
    }
  },
  {
    $set: {
      Profittest: { 
$subtract: ["$TotalRevenue", "$TotalCost"] 
       }

}
  }
]

Hi @Jose_Olaizola,

Do you have some sample documents you could provide as well?

Just to double check too, are the initial actual field names literal '$Revenue' and $Cost' (with the $ at front?).

Regards,
Jason

Hi @Jason_Tran, here is the sample documents, some of them don’t have Cost value, some others don’t have Revenue Value. the fields are called “Revenue” and “Cost” is the “$” not needed?

{
  "_id": {
    "$oid": "657a5ee6da7f76effe0c042a"
  },
  "fields": {
    "Entry Date": "2023-12-14T01:48:22.000Z",
    "Cost": 30,
    "Revenue": 1225
  }
}

{
    "$oid": "655e0ff79ed4ae1e357235c6"
  },
    "Entry Date": "2023-11-06T22:40:02.000Z",
    "Revenue": 1125
  }
}

{
    "$oid": "655d2e1f8b5ac7a0dff5db95"
  },
    "Entry Date": "2023-11-21T22:24:31.000Z",
    "Cost": 0.75
  }
}

Thanks in advance

1 Like

Hi @Jose_Olaizola,

Based off your sample documents you’ve provided, it appears Cost and Revenue are within another field named "fields".

Let’s say I have the following documents (copied from what you provided):