Correcting indexes

Hello. I’m new to Mongo but have inherited a product DB that I need to correct indexes on so that searches behave as expected with case insensitivity, fuzzy, etc. I want to get as many gains as I can via indexes prior to cracking open the frontend code. Note- collation options were not set during the creation of the collection being queried. While I’ve watched and read a lot about MongoDB indexes, I seem to be having different than expected experiences. The Search Tester in the UI returns case-insensitive results but queries on the same term via Compass and the Shell are only returning exact matches. Please advise if this is normal behavior and the best method for creating/modifying indexes. The different connection methods seem to have different granularity but none seem to solve the case issue. Nor does adjusting analyzers settings. A pointer to a good explanation of the differences and relationships between the DB indexes and Search Indexes would also be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi @Michael_Davis ,

If I understand correctly you are working with Atlas and Atlas search for the application right?

If so there are verious ways to make a query of you choice including fuzzy/case sensitive r I sensitive or etc as long as they used with $search aggregation and appropriate search index. The search tester by default uses a simple text $search stage…

In compass regular queries are not using Atlas search by default as long as you don’t explicitly use $search in aggregation pipeline builder or shell…

I would recommend reading through some of our articles and checking out our search demo site:

Thanks