Cannot connect to MongoDB atlas when following the Next.js MongoDB tutorial

Hi all, I’m new to MongoDB and Next.js and am following the MongoDB Next.js integration tutorial

I have changed the env file name to .env.local and I am replacing the MONGODB_URI with the same I got from MongoDB atlas, connect to your application, and clicking on Drivers.

I have tried with this URI:
MONGODB_URI = mongodb+srv://<user>:<password>@rgcluster.x7ixk.mongodb.net/?retryWrites=true&w=majority

I also tried with this URI to mention the the collection name:
MONGODB_URI = mongodb+srv://<user>:<password>@rgcluster.x7ixk.mongodb.net/sample_mflix?retryWrites=true&w=majority

both are not working and showing that I am not connected to the database.

I also get this error in the terminal:

ok: 0,
  code: 8000,
  codeName: 'AtlasError',
  [Symbol(errorLabels)]: Set(1) { 'HandshakeError' }
}

I have disabled my firewall as I thought it might be affecting the connection, but no success.

Do you know what is the problem?

Hi @Remy_Ghalayini and welcome to MongoDB community forums!!

Based on the error message you have posted in the above thread, it seems there could be an authentication error.
It would be helpful if you could clarify more on the following:

1. Are you using the right username and password attached to the connection staring?
  2. Are you able to connect outside of the application using mongosh or compass ?
  3. Could you help me with the steps you have followed to create user and whitelisting the IPs on Atlas?

Below is an example that shows the correct connection string to use while making the connection with the database:

mongodb+srv://test:test@cluster0.4zdj5vb.mongodb.net/?retryWrites=true&w=majority
where test and test are my username and password.

I believe the documentation on Configuring user on Atlas and Whitelisting the IPs would be a good starting point to read.

Warm Regards
Aasawari

Hi Aaasawari, answering your question: