“BadValue: SCRAM-SHA-256 authentication is disabled”

Hey Jason,
we experience the same thing. MMS-Automation fails to connect 100% of the time. And our developers can’t connect, while I can using the same connection string and program (MongoDB Compass) .
Every time it failed it was because of “BadValue: SCRAM-SHA-256 authentication is disabled”.

I am rather new to mongo and specifically atlas. I tried to find the version of the drivers but I was able to find a way to get it. The cluster is Mongo version 6.0.1 and my Compass version is 1.33.0 (stable).

MMS-Automation fails to connect 100% of the time. And our developers can’t connect, while I can using the same connection string and program (MongoDB Compass) .
Every time it failed it was because of “BadValue: SCRAM-SHA-256 authentication is disabled”.

I believe the MMS-Automation connection failure you have mentioned may not necessarily be a connection failure. As described in the link post for this topic:

The source of this message is that mms-automation user initially attempts authentication using SCRAM-SHA-256 which Atlas doesn’t support, causing the “BadValue: SCRAM-SHA-256 authentication is disabled” message, before falling back to SCRAM-SHA-1.

Would you be able to provide a screenshot of that particular error message from Compass?

Additionally, could you describe the steps you’re using to connect via Compass?

I have tried connecting through the internet using the same Compass version to my own test cluster and was not able to reproduce what you are seeing (No BadValue: SCRAM-SHA-256 message + no connection failure).

Regards,
Jason

1 Like