What would be the best way to model the data for a forum? Including questions, answers and votes

Hi everyone!
I’m new to MongoDB and would like to get some help modeling my forum data. The main things that I currently try to model are the questions, answers, and votes (I also have users collection, but I dealt with it already, it was pretty easy). My website is very similar to Reddit or StackOverflow. each question has a title, description, creator, if the creator is anonymous, time created, and tags. Each answer has content, creator, if the creator is anonymous, and time created. Every answer is also linked to a question and possibly to another answer (if it’s a reply to another answer). I also want both the questions and answers to have voting (upvotes and downvotes). If I would just embed everything it would look something like this:

questions collection:
 - creator: userId
 - createdAt: Date
 - isAnon: boolean
 - title: string
 - description: string
 - tags: string[]
 - answers: AnswerSchema[]
 - upvotes: userId[]
 - downvotes: userId[]

AnswerSchema:
 - creator: userId
 - createdAt: Date
 - isAnon: boolean
 - content: string
 - replies: AnswerSchema[]
 - upvotes: userId[]
 - downvotes: userId[]

That doesn’t seem like a good idea because even tho embedding is considered the better approach most of the times, it sets a limit for how much data I can store (even if in the beginning I won’t have many answers/votes, but what if my website will grow and have a lot of data?).
I thought of just don’t everything with referencing so I’ll have four collections: one for questions, one for answers (with a question id field to reference to the question, and an answer id field for when it’s a reply.), and two for votes (connecting between answer/question and user, and another field for if it’s downvote or upvote). And then also adding to the questions and answers collection upvotesCount and downvotesCount.