Using Change Streams in a standalone database

Hi, all! I’m new to MongoDB and am hoping to see if anyone on here has run into some of the issues I’m having.

Just to provide some context, I am developing a desktop application that monitors changes to a MongoDB hosted locally. This MongoDB is initialized and maintained as a standalone database from another desktop application.

I came across the watch() APIs that create Change Streams that may be used to access changes to the database. After running the application, I received this error:

com.mongodb.MongoCommandException: Command failed with error 40573 (Location40573): 'The $changeStream stage is only supported on replica sets' on server localhost:27017. The full response is {"ok": 0.0, "errmsg": "The $changeStream stage is only supported on replica sets", "code": 40573, "codeName": "Location40573"}

So naturally, I dug into this a bit. It looks like Change Streams only work if the database is initialized as a replica set. I was able to shutdown the database (which, again, was initialized by a separate desktop application) and re-initialize it using the --replSet rs0 option. After running my application again, everything worked! It seems I’ve created a single-node replication set just so that the Change Streams can have access to the oplog?

I guess my question is based on how the Change Streams work. Am I correct to assume that the Change Streams monitor the oplog directly, and the only way that oplog is created is by initializing the database as a replication set?

If this assumption is correct, does anyone know of any other way to create the oplog without having to initialize the database as a replication set?

Or can I monitor updates to the oplog directly? I’m assuming that might be a huge pain, which is probably why the Change Streams exist in the first place.

Thanks all for your help! Let me know if you need more context!

1 Like

Hi @CJ_Leaird and welcome in the MongoDB Community :muscle: !