Update the property of an object in an nested array

I’m new to mongo and have already searched through most of this forum to find the solution to my current problem, but I haven’t been able to, so I apologize in advance if my question appears repetitive or stupid.

I have provided one real-world example based on the mongo db documents and examples:

db.students.insertOne(
   { "_id" : 1,
       "key":"first",
      "grades" : [
        { type: "quiz", questions: [{name:"1",value:"1"}, {name:"2",value:"2"}],images:["1","2"] },
        { type: "quiz" },
        { type: "hw", questions: [ {name:"5",value:"5"}, {name:"6"} ] },
        { type: "exam", questions: [ {name:"7",value:"7"}, {name:"8",value:"8"},{name:"1",value:"1"} ],images:["1","2"] },
      ]
   }
)

In my search, I am looking for all objects containing {“name”:“1”} and updating just the name to "10
Here is the query:

db.getCollection("students").updateMany({"grades.questions.name":"1"},{$set:{"grades.$[].questions.$[x].name":"10"}},
{ arrayFilters: [  {"x.name": "1" } ] }
,{upsert:false})

But it complains that ‘grades.1.questions’ must exist in the document in order to apply array updates. This is why I included the first condition “grades.questions.name”:“1”.

any help will be appreciated!

your query works, but you have this incorrect data. it has no “questions.name” thus the problem happens.

1 Like

That’s true, but I did it intentionally as this is the current state of our database; there are some records that don’t even have the second array!
Do you think it is possible to tailor the query to skip such situations without complaining?

you may need to change your schema if it proves difficult to write a query. for example, splitting each question into their own field and embedding grade type in them instead of embedding under questions under grades. if then, you would loop only on questions but add an extra type check. pros and cons.