Update embedded document

Hi everyone, I’m a real newbie to the noSQL world and I wanted to play with it in combination with DDD. I have some doubts about updating data that is partially duplicated from one aggregate to another. Lets take an example:

I’m modelling an online personal lecture system with Teachers and Students. Students can enroll to the course proposed by a Teacher. The Enrollment is private between the Teacher and the Student. The Teacher can assign exercises to the Student through the Enrollment. The Student can submit the completed exercise. After the Enrollment period is done, the System remove the Enrollment.

In Mongo, I would model three main Documents: Teacher, Student and Enrollment. I Explicitly created an Enrollment Aggregate/Document, so that the Students and the Teachers can directly enquire all the active Enrollments.

The Mongo Documents:

Student {
    id,
    name,
    surname,
    birthDate,
    address
}

Teacher {
    id,
    name,
    surname,
    birthDate,
    address,
    courseInformation: {}
}

Enrollment {
  student: {
      name,
      surname,
      address
  },
  teacher: {
      name,
      surname
  },
  exercises: {...}
 }

Assume that for some reason the Enrollment is interested in keeping the address consistent with the Student address.
Mongo now has multi document ACID transactions, but I’m trying to follow DDD principles and make asynchronous updates across Aggregates/Documents.
My question is, prior multi document ACID transactions, how one can maintain consistency between data copied across multiple documents?
Was some sort of messaging mechanism used? I’m quite afraid of implementing a messaging system due to the difficulties of atomic and reliable aggregate update + message send.

Thank you

Hi @Green,

Welcome to MongoDB community .

Keeping atomic consistency across multiple documents is best achieved with transactions and there are many challenges of achieving it without it.