Update data across multiple collections within the same database

I’m new to MongoDB and trying to learning how to update data across multiple collections within the same database. I looked at transactions as per the blog below but the Airbnb example seems overly complicated.
https://www.mongodb.com/developer/quickstart/node-transactions/

I also came across this stackoverflow post where one could use Promise, Await/Sync or $lookup.
I do not know how to apply this in my use case and if there is an easier way

To keep it simple, I’m trying to update a field in two collections using a single query.

For Example: Lets take the sample_analytics database within MongoDB as shown below. We have an accounts collection and a customers collection.

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 1.09.38 pm

My query:

If I update an account number in the accounts array in the customer collection, how to update the same account number in the accounts collection. I was wondering if this is possible with a single update query.

Hello @Jagjit_Singh, here is the information you are looking for.

You can update a document in two collections. And the operation can be performed atomically using MongoDB Transaction. But, the update operation on each collection will be separate - it cannot be done as a “single query”.

You can do this with two separate update operations - one each on a collection. To make both the updates (together) atomic, use a transaction.

Here is a simple example with two insert operations on two collections, inserting a document in each one - within a transaction. This runs in mongosh.

1 Like

Thanks Prasad. I was able to update two collections using the script below but not sure if its the right approach, for example i wasn’t able to check if the user exists in the comments collections.

The script updates the email field value in the users and comments collection in the sample_mflix database in MongoDB.

How can we write the below using transactions? That will be great help.