The most performant method of querying paginated data with MongoDB

This topic is all about what is more performant. I am new to MongoDB & NoSQL and this may be obvious to some, but I am trying to figure out the most efficient way of making my back-end allow the front-end to fetch paginated data that combines two fields. I essentially want to know whether plan A or B is best - that is, either storing more data in the database vs storing less data but having to amend, merge and sort the data before returning it to the front-end.

To provide some context, I want the back-end to merge the affiliatePayments and affiliateCommissions fields in date order and expose the pagination-friendly result to the front-end via an API.

Current user model (with an example user):

_id: ObjectId('631a5067hcfeb5940686f144')
email: “test@user.com”
hashedPassword: “test”
dateCreated: 2022-09-08T20:28:23.766+00:00
plan: "FREE"
directAffiliateSignup: false
referralPromoCode: "f2f11fed-ab02-46df-8eff-ba3d8cc3fb93"
affiliateRate: 0.3
affiliatePayments: [{date: 2022-07-27, amount: 2, id: someMongoId}, {date: 2022-08-23, amount: 3, id: someMongoId}]
affiliateCommissions: [{date: 2022-08-01, amount: 10, id: someMongoId}, {date: 2022-09-01, amount: 4, id: someMongoId}]

It’ll also need to be able to differentiate between each affiliatePayment and affiliateCommission, so each affiliatePayment will need a type field with a payment value and the affiliateCommission will need a type field with a commission value.

So the API should return something like this example data:

[{date: 2022-07-27, amount: 2, id: someMongoId, type: ‘payment’}, {date: 2022-08-01, amount: 10, id: someMongoId, type: ‘commission’}, {date: 2022-08-23, amount: 3, id: someMongoId, type: ‘payment’}, {date: 2022-09-01, amount: 4, id: someMongoId, type: ‘commission’}]