Starting a new FOSS project, call for assistance

Hi Everyone,

I’m John - I’ve been an engineer, architect and consultant here at MongoDB for the last 8 years and I recently joined our Developer Advocacy team.

One of my plans is to create some Open-source applications, built on the MongoDB platform (including Realm) that are owned and developed by a community. I’d like to get to a state where someone with no previous understanding of MongoDB can come along and with a few instructions pull the code from Github, push it to Realm and start running a private application with a backend to meet an actual need.

For example, last year I saw lots of people wanting to run online quizzes for fun and education. Whilst there are “Quiz as a Service” applications out there they lack the flexibility in their free tiers. With your own Atlas cluster and Realm app + source that would not be an issue.

I’m also aware that decentralised Twitter style social media is a popular idea, that’s another option I was looking at.

My intent is to be very closely involved in the early design and development phases for this (even if it’s me alone) and to use that to create articles on schema design, code design, scaling and all that stuff. Ultimately I’d like something that a community can own, grow, fork and importantly just use with no coding if that’s what they want.

I’m putting this here to ask for help - a community effort start in a community. Initially I’m looking for application ideas beyond the two I have given - or feedback on those. I think, for it to be worthwhile it should be a multi-user application, that a non developer might want to host and use. Suggestions I have so far.

• Quiz App (Users can define questions and run live interactive quiz)
  • Twitter style social media app (Users run node to host their own content and their friends content but nodes can be connected )
  • Chatroom software (I think this is a saturated market)