Setting up Python to use Mongo

I am new to Python and MongoDB and I am struggling with how to set up my classes within my project to use MongoDB. In my learning journey I came across the mongoengine and I have the following question.

I have a project that has 1 database with currently 7 collections. The collections are:
cart
country
invoice
product
session
store
user

I am currently taking a long hard look at my collections and strongly considering eliminating the country and invoice collections. Country can be combined into both the store and user collection as individual fields. (Tax can still be figured based on where the sale is taking place… from the store country) I am unsure about the invoice collection as this can be a large collection over time. (having to keep sales records for long periods of time)

But upon looking up multiple questions I came across the mongoengine… From my research, it appears that mongoengine is a third party and if I am using pymongo it seems to not be required. Am I right?

My current classes are written like this:

from dataclasses import dataclass
from model.cart import Cart

@dataclass
class User(object):

def __init__(self, first_name, last_name, phone, email, uid, cart):
        self.first_name = first_name
        self.last_name = last_name
        self.phone = phone
        self.email = email
        self.uid = uid
        self.cart = cart

def __getattr__(self, key):
        return getattr(self, key)

def __repr__(self):
        return "first_name: {}, last_name: {}, uid: {}, cart: {}, card: {}".format(self.first_name, self.last_name, self.uid, self.cart, )

first_name: str
    last_name: str
    phone: str
    email: str
    uid: str
    cart: Cart

I find the documentation on mongoengine to define classes quite differently. They define classes like this:

class User(Document):
    email = StringField(required=True)
    first_name = StringField(max_length=50)
    last_name = StringField(max_length=50)