Retrieve Word Docs from MongoDB

I have a large MongoDB of word documents and PDFs which I would like to save from the DB to my computer, retaining the directory structure if possible.

The website who stored these files and folders provided a MongoDB dump. I am completely new to this and am learning as I go. I have installed the MongoDB on Ubuntu, used Mongorestore to add the dumped files (fs.chunks.bson, fs.files etc.) to this local database and I can see the collection in Compass.

I would appreciate any thoughts on how to get the Docs/PDFs etc. onto my hard disk so I can open and view them in their respective applications. Retaining the folder struction as it was on the website is vital, if that is possible.

Thanks.

Hello @GreenLeaf, welcome to the MongoDB Community forum!

The data you had restored into the local (your computer) MongoDB is stored as GridFS collections. GridFS is a way of storing large files in MongoDB database. To get your DOC/PDF documents from the database you need to use the GridFS tools as specified here: Use GridFS. You can work with mongofiles command-line tool or use GridFS API of a programming language (like Python, Java, NodeJS, etc.) with its respective MongoDB Driver.

Thank you for your response. I have figured out a way to save files to disk from a GridFS bucket using Studio 3T, but this writes 10,174 files (the DOC/PDF files) to one folder without retaining the folder structure.

Is there a way, using mongofiles or Studio 3T (or another way), to save the files to disk while maintaining the folder structure? If it is relevant, there is a collection in the DB called _hierarchy.

Like I said before, I am learning as I go and any simple explanations or example code would be greatly appreciated.