Removing and re-adding a replica set member

Hi all,

I’m new to MongoDB and I have a question about Replica sets. At the moment, I have 2 sites and 4 mongodb databases in replica set; one primary, one secondary in site A and one secondary and one observer in site B.

For reasons, I have to break the comms between the sites and turn the secondary in site B to act as a primary - write data to it. I will have to rejoin the sites and re-establish the replica set later.

My question is if I remove a member (secondary in site 2) from the replica set, break the comms between site A and B and then write data to the secondary database in site B, then re-add the member to the replica set to be replicated from the primary database in site A, would there be any data corruption?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the community @Oscar_A!

All members of a replica set share a common write history.

You can remove a member from a replica set and use that in standalone mode or as the seed for another replica set, but that creates a divergent write history. You cannot re-add that member to the original replica set without re-syncing or rolling back the writes (which would undo your goal of writing data to this member).

If you want to merge data back into a single replica set, you will have to backup and restore the relevant data. Merging may be difficult if you have updated the same collections (or documents!) in different deployments.

Regards,
Stennie

Hi Stennie,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes the problem is the primary and one secondary will continue to work in site A, data being written to the primary. Then in site B after the link to site A is broken, data will also be written to the ex-secondary-now-primary database.

However, data written to site B primary is of zero importance because I am doing this only for testing purposes for site B.