Performance: Long networking time and huge difference between count and actual returning

I’m fairly new to MongoDB query optimizing. I have a query that runs quite slow when there are about 7000 not-too-complex documents from a single collection to be retrieved (about 5 to 6 MB of data). I’m using Node.js and Mongoose.
For analysis, I added some time measurements and also an additional “countDocuments” for comparison. However, the actual query needs to return all documents at once:

console.time('FullQuery')
await MyMongooseModel.find(findCondition)
console.timeEnd('FullQuery')

console.time('OnlyCount')
await MyMongooseModel.countDocuments(findCondition)
console.timeEnd('OnlyCount')

Result I get on my local Node.js server connecting to a local Mongo installation running in a Docker container:

FullQuery: 821.835ms
OnlyCount: 33.472ms

Connecting my local Node.js server to my remote Atlas instance:

FullQuery: 3.595s
OnlyCount: 42.642ms

My interpretation of that data:

• Filtering is quite fast, 30-40ms is not a concern. Hence, adding additional indexes won’t help.
  • The time difference between the local and the remote Mongo instance is huge: more than 2.5 seconds. I think that’s far more than it should take to transfer 6 MB of data through a rather fast internet connection. Hence, I think there might be some configuration problem.

I now have the questions below:

• Is my interpretation correct?
  • Is there anything I can do to improve performance in general even locally? unfortunately, limiting the number of query results and/or projections to limit the properties is not really an option in my use case.
  • What can I do to make the Atlas remote instance return the query faster?
  • I know this is not a Mongoose help forum, but asking anyway: Could the problem be in Mongoose and/or the underlying Node.js driver?

What is your query and document like? without this info, it’s difficult for us to give any more insights.