ODBC Connection test freezes

Good day,

I am a CyberArk engineer and am working on a connector from CyberArk that allows it to manage MongoDB accounts. I am not a DBA and know nothing about Mongo but am familiar with basic ODBC connections. On my Windows 2016 server I have the installed the ODBC drivers and am trying to do a test connection using some credentials given to me by the DBA who’s running it on another host. When connecting, the connection just hangs resulting in a “not responding”, requiring me to kill the process. I checked the port on their server using powershell and it’s open.
Any advice in troubleshooting the issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
MongoError

I’m surprised it doesnt’ comeback w/timeout?

Your IP/Host/port are likely wrong or it’s not getting routed there?

1. Check that you’ve allowed network access from your machine to MongoDB / MongoDB Atlas
  2. I’d add wireshark to check what ports are actually in fact being used. I installed it so I could get help from my admin to ID the issue.
  3. Also if you’re going across a private link for Cloud that’s also something to figure out, you may need to do some networking configs for that
  4. Is the port 20020? Typically it’s 20717 I think but maybe the customer is using custom port.

Good luck!

BTW I didn’t think CyberArk could support/ manage and audit/record db sessions connecting (e.g. like staff connecting to bastion host) ?? Do you have a link to a white paper for it. Although since you’re testing, I’m guessing this is a proof of concept “NEW” for customers?

1 Like

Hello @Adam_A … 2 thoughts:

1. Are you sure the port number is correct?
  2. Is the DBA who set this sure that Mongo is correctly configured to answer on the given interface?
1 Like

nchan, Jack,