Node.js Mongodb Driver reuse connection and reconnect to cluster if connection lost

Hello, I’m new to using the node.js mongodb driver. In the past I’ve used mongoose for all mongodb related projects. I took M220JS and had a lot of unanswered questions. What is holding me up now is understanding the connection.

The docs point out how to connect and offer some examples here

But the example seems to be written for a one-off use-case rather than a real world application. For instance the example shows closing the connection after the request but in a real application, you would want to re-use the existing connection and take advantage of the connection pool. With that in mind, I have the following mongo.js

require('dotenv').config();
const { MongoClient } = require('mongodb');
const config = require('../../config/index');

const username = encodeURIComponent(config.mongo_db1.user);
const password = encodeURIComponent(config.mongo_db1.pass);
const dbHost = config.mongo_db1.host;
const authMechanism = 'DEFAULT';
const qString = `retryWrites=true&w=majority&authMechanism=${authMechanism}`;

const uri = `mongodb+srv://${username}:${password}@${dbHost}/?${qString}`;

const mongoOptions = {
  poolSize: 100,
  wtimeout: 2500,
  useNewUrlParser: true,
  useUnifiedTopology: true,
};

const client = new MongoClient(uri, mongoOptions);

let _db;

client.on('serverClosed', (event) => {
  // eslint-disable-next-line no-console
  console.log('received serverClosed');
  console.log(JSON.stringify(event, null, 2));

// should i call mongoDBConnection() here if connection lost while app running?
});

const mongoDBConnection = async (app) => {
  try {
    if (client.isConnected()) {
      _db = client.db(config.mongo_db1.dbName);
      return client.db(config.mongo_db1.dbName);
    }

await client.connect();
    if (app) app.use(passport.initialize());
    _db = client.db(config.mongo_db1.dbName);
    return client.db(config.mongo_db1.dbName);
  } catch (error) {