Newbie need help with first bigger project (Design the project)

Hi all,

I am new to MongoDB and planning my first bigger project where I want to use it.

So, while figuring out how I could design the database I got some questions in my head. This project relates to kind of article management, so I wondered what I should use, embedded or referenced documents.

In a SQL database I would have at least 8 tables:

• Main Table with basic information
  • Misc Table with some additional information
  • Sales Table for each article measurement
  • Barcodes table for barcode of each measurement
  • Price table for the sale prices of each measurement
  • Supplier table for each supplier
  • Purchase table for the supplier information of each supplier
  • Cost table for the supplier’s cost of each supplier

With following relationships in SQL:

• Main > Misc = one to one
  • Main >> Sales = one to many
  • Sales >> Barcodes = one to many
  • Sales >> Prices = one to many
  • Main >> Supplier = one to many
  • Supplier >> Purchase = one to many
  • Purchase >> Cost = one to many

So, in MongoDB I see three designs I could use – for sure there are more which I don’t see.

The first:

• Main with Embedded Misc
  • Main reference to Sales
  • Sales reference to Barcode and Prices
  • Main reference to Supplier
  • Supplier reference to Purchase and Cost

I would aspect this could have low performance and complex queries when adding new data to the second reference.

The second:

• Main with Embedded Misc
  • Main reference to Sales with embedded Barcodes and Prices
  • Main reference to Supplier with embedded Purchase and Cost

Probably the best way?

The third:

• Main with embedded everything

I would aspect this could end up in complex queries and data mess when getting some specific information.

I would be happy if someone can get a newbie into the right lane :blush:

Thanks, in advanced.