Newbie - Mongod not working

I am very new to coding, terminal and using mongodb. I have been taking a udemy course and got past the mongodb installation and setup just fine and out of no where after I barely started the next project I started getting these errors when starting mongod. I spent a week trying to figure it out until I just tried to remove mongodb completely off my computer and reinstall everything. I am pretty sure I failed at that because it still does not work. I do not understand the error messages or which ones are even errors. The console logs are really daunting to look at for me because I am so new. I got stuck on this about 2 months ago and I had to stop for awhile and I started working on it a couple days ago and I just am completely stuck here. Some people suggested taking free courses which I think is a good idea once I can get this working again.
I have tried to switch the port #, I tried to change the dbpath location and it still does not load up. Can someone help me?

Thanks!

Error says non existent dirpath
What is your OS?
Did you try to create /data/db as suggested
How did you start mongod after changing the dirpath?

You can always start your own mongod by giving different values like port,dbpath other than default values

mongod --port --dbpath --logpath --fork
Choose a dir where your mongod can read/write say your home directory

Mac Big Sur.
I tried changing the port and dbpath many times.
mongod --dbpath data/db
mongod --port 27018

data/db is not same as /data/db
One is a relative path and other one is absolute path
First command failed because it could not find dbpath directory
Second command failed as you did not specify dbapth so it looks for default dir /data/db which is not existing as you created it under some other dir
Before you start mongod cd to the each dir you mentioned in your command or config file

1 Like