Need help enabling access control for MongoDB 4.2 on Windows

HI! everyone i’m just a newbie to MongoDB. I got this problem, i have granted to the role to a specific user for specific database. But the user doesn’t play their role.

This user: has role to read

i login successfully

but…

like i said it can be inserted

Can anyone help me pls ? i try to search and it said because i have not enable access. I tried to enable but work nothing…

Please elaborate on this
How did you enable access control
What steps you followed

@Ramachandra_Tummala yes ! i know I haven’t enabled security, so i i edit the mongod.cfg (open with WordPad_) and found #security field is leave empty. So i put on authorization:“enabled” and ctrl +S. But it notification with this: Access to C:\Program Files\MongoDB\Server\4.2\bin\mongod.cfg was denied !

I cannot enable permission on C:\Program Files\MongoDB\Server\4.2\bin\mongod.cfg. Maybe i use mongoDB on local host ? i tried to open properties -> security and grant all access. But i cannot save what i change! i tried to save another file (.cfg) at the same C:\Program Files\MongoDB\Server\4.2\bin\ BUT it said contact adminstrator to do that and if i save on another disk like D:\ it success

I understood that you have not enabled access control as it was clearly mentioned in your first post
What was not clear to me was your comment “I tried to enable but work nothing”
So i was trying to understand how you started mongod like from command line or using config file etc.That’s why asked you explain more on it
Anyway from your latest post it is clear the issue is with file permissions/privileges issue
You should have admin privs to edit cfg file(it is read only)

Yes try on local host with your own config file placed on different drive.I think you already did this and confirmed success

1 Like

@Ramachandra_Tummala

This is my config file which was edited ! and the comment below i explained my step! have u got any idea to help me? Thanks