Multitenancy, multi-region, sharding and zones

Hello, I am quite new to MongoDB architecture and I am considering MongoDB Atlas for our primary transactional database. Our application is a B2B multitenant SaaS application that is currently in a single region, but will expand to multiple regions in years to come. I was wondering how the concepts of multitenancy, multi-region, sharding and zones all intersect and how they can help answer my questions below?

1. What are the benefits/drawbacks of a multi-region cluster vs cluster per region?
  2. Can I start with an unsharded cluster with the “tenant per database” multitenancy model and evolve this into a multi-master-like sharded cluster by assigning tenant databases to specific shards? Do I need zones to do this, if at all?
  3. If sharding is enabled, is it generally possible to ensure that each tenant database stays confined to a single shard?
  4. If using sharding, both with or without zones, is it possible to communicate with the cluster from a single URL/domain for all reads and writes?
  5. If a single tenant database begins to outgrow its current shared shard, is it possible to move it to a dedicated shard? What does this involve from both the client (microservice running in a container) and server (MongoDB Atlas) sides?

Further details:
• I do not expect the need to shard individual tenant collections, but I expect that collectively the individual tenant collections from their respective tenant databases will eventually surpass the storage limits of a single node.
• I want to avoid sharding a single tenant’s collection in order to maintain data locality and ensure fast reads.
• I want to eventually support multiple write nodes for high availability and throughput without requiring multiple database clusters, which would introduce added complexity on the client side.

Hi Olivier,