MongoDB with Atlas for Worldwide "Lightweight Electronic Medical Records" system to effectively treat patients

Dear MongoDB Community:

My name is Prasad Reddy. I am a Internal Medicine physician by training and managed a group of physicians in that regard. I also have some understanding of RDBMS and overview of various types of big data technologies.

Currently, the world is faced with Covid Pandemic and current Electronic Medical Record systems ( EMR) are not ideal to use in this setting. They provide much richer data, but if the patients are being treated in Central Park of NY, fancy EMR is useless. You can not set up servers, network infrastructure etc in Central Park quickly.

** Cloud based solution will solve this.

To minimize the risk to healthcare workers ( CNAs, RNs and MDs), we need to have as much of the healthcare to be done on telemedicine mode. EMRs do provide some remote access to physicians, but nurses unfortunately still need to be on the battle ground. Some of the functions that the doctors and nurse do for example history taking of the patient, can be done by minimal training by others. A call center employee and recently furloughed airlines employees can quickly be trained to take medical questionnaires from patients to relieve healthcare workers to focus on ICU patients where more resources are needed. Low acuity patients that are asked to stay at home have no real monitoring. Collecting a daily medical " Review of Systems" by call center employees can pick up potential hospital admissions ahead of time. Current EMRs can not do that.

** A could based EMR can do that.

While there are some cloud based EMRs, none of them are designed for billion patients in one database with million concurrent users. This requires writing the project from ground up.