Mongodb shell is not uninstalled

Hi everyone,

I am a mongodb novice. I was tasked to migrate existing mongodb database to a remote server. The issue starts with me changing the dB path (mongodump and mongorestore work fine with the default dB path at /var/lib/mo go) at the new server.

I tried to change to another directory and met with a few issues, mostly due to permissions. I then switch back to the default directory and upon executing ‘mongosh’, it is somehow stuck at the new directory, although I have revert the changes at /etc/mongo.conf for the dB path.

I then attempted to uninstall the entire mongodb to try everything from scratch again but somehow mongodb shell is not uninstalled after performing sudo yum remove. I can still see it at /usr/bin.

Can I just delete the mongosh folder at /usr/bin? Or is there a better way to uninstall the mongodb shell?

Thanks,
Kevin

Hi @Kevin_Choo

Mongosh is seperate from the mongodb-tools and the mongodb server packages.

Depending on the OS and installation method;
ubuntu, debian: sudo apt remove mongodb-mongosh
redhat,centos: sudo yum remove mongodb-mongosh

mongodump and mongorestore don’t have a direct relationship with the data directory unless you are reading or writing dump files there. Nor does mongosh. The problems you are having are more likely related to the server (mongod) configuration.

https://university.mongodb.com has some great training on the tasks you are attempting:
MongoDB Courses and Trainings | MongoDB University
MongoDB Courses and Trainings | MongoDB University

Hi @chris ,

Thanks for the prompt response. I really appreciate it. I managed to uninstall mongosh now and did a reinstall. I am using cent os by the way.

I would like to actually use the non default directory(desired directory: /home/db) for the db directory. My current permission for home/db is
drwxr-xr-x. 3 db mongod 115 Oct 20 22:20 /home/db/