Mongodb in Big Data Search

I encountered a problem when I was working, but because I am a self-taught program and have no professional training, I have no way to judge whether there is a better solution, so I come up to ask everyone

System limitations:

1. Unable to access the cloud, it is all company secrets and cannot be placed on the cloud
  2. Two computers are used for hardware backup, and one of them is used as Replica Set backup, which cannot be extended horizontally
  3. The maximum data capacity is 144TB, and the maximum will not exceed this number(the latter covers the former)
  4. The current data storage architecture uses the same Database, but in different Collections
  5. Normal data use will only extract the current day or recent data and hand it over to the front-end for drawing or display, and will not change any data
  6. Occasionally extract data up to one year and export it to Excel
  7. Index has been used, and aggregate is used to limit the search, and the use of $in/$nin/$regex, etc., which will search the entire Collection for logic sub-searches is reduced.
  8. The cache size has been configured to 50% of the system configuration
  9. The system has used SSD hard disk, and the network communication is already 10G network

Problems encountered:
At present, Mongodb is running very normally when the traffic is low, and it is also working very well. The amount of data may overflow to 144TB after 3-5 years. The current concern is whether it will cause the search process. Mongodb’s Timeout or low search efficiency

Question:
Would like to ask if there is a way to improve the search efficiency?
For example: I put all the birthday categories in the birthday DB, and when I need to find the birthday, I go to that DB to find

Or will using Cluster/Sharding improve efficiency?

Thank you very much for your answers and help. I will keep every answer of yours in mind. Best wishes.

Hey @William_Lyu,

Welcome to the MongoDB Community Forums! :leaves: