MongoDB 4.4.2 / X509 -> Can't connect with mongo shell!

I am trying to set up a stand alone mongod server using X509 and then connect to it from mongo shell. Below is a description of what I do. It all goes well up to a certain point, but when I reach the time to launch mongo shell, troubles show up. Since I am no mongodb expert and neither am I an openssl guru, I may well be making some basic mistake on the way. I hope someone with more experience will take a look and shed some light on the issue.

The root CA certificate (RootCA.pem) is created here, using:

$ openssl req -x509 -newkey rsa:4096 -days 3653 -keyout RootCA.key.pem -out RootCA.pem -subj /C=US/ST=NY/O=RootCA

Then an intermediate certificate (IntermedCA.pem) is created, using:

$ openssl req -config openssl.cnf -new -newkey rsa:4096 -nodes -keyout IntermedCA.key.pem -out IntermedCA.req.pem -subj /C=US/ST=DC/O=IntermedCA
$ openssl x509 -req -days 1096 -in IntermedCA.req.pem -CA RootCA.pem -CAkey RootCA.key.pem -extfile openssl.cnf -extensions v3_ca -set_serial 01 -out IntermedCA.pem

A server certificate (Server.pem) is created, using:

$ openssl req -new -newkey rsa:4096 -nodes -keyout Server.key.pem -out Server.req.pem -subj /C=US/ST=CA/O=ServerCA
$ openssl x509 -req -days 365 -in Server.req.pem -CA IntermedCA.pem -CAkey IntermedCA.key.pem -extensions v3_ca -set_serial 01 -out Server.pem

A client certificate (Client.pem) is created, using:

$ openssl req -new -newkey rsa:4096 -nodes -keyout Client.key.pem -out Client.req.pem -subj /C=US/ST=MA/O=ClientCA
$ openssl x509 -req -days 365 -in Client.req.pem -CA IntermedCA.pem -CAkey IntermedCA.key.pem -extensions v3_ca -set_serial 01 -out Client.pem

The trust chain (TrustChain.pem) for the verification is created, using:

$ cat IntermedCA.pem RootCA.pem > TrustChain.pem

We must then create a certificate of an adequate shape for mongod to work, using:

$ cat Server.key.pem Server.pem > Server.cert