Mongod.service Failed with result core-dump

Hi Mongodb OPS and Sysad,

I’m new to mongodb and currently working on a virtual machine installed with redhat. it happens that we tried to change the permission of the following while adding the keyfile on the security option under /etc/mongod.conf

then we restart the mongodb using the command systemctl restart mongod

here’s the error:

● mongod.service - MongoDB Database Server
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/mongod.service; enabled; vendor pres>
Active: failed (Result: core-dump) since Wed 2021-02-24 13:41:34 PST; 1 day >
Docs: https://docs.mongodb.org/manual
Process: 1279 ExecStart=/usr/bin/mongod $OPTIONS (code=dumped, signal=ABRT)
Process: 1277 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/chmod 0755 /var/run/mongodb (code=exited,>
Process: 1274 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/chown mongod:mongod /var/run/mongodb (cod>
Process: 1271 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/mkdir -p /var/run/mongodb (code=exited, s>

mongod[1279]: mongod(_ZN5mongo11Initial>
mongod[1279]: mongod(_ZN5mongo21runGlob>
mongod[1279]: mongod(+0xD9DF2A) [0x560b>
mongod[1279]: mongod(+0xD1F719) [0x560b>
mongod[1279]: libc.so.6(__libc_start_ma>
mongod[1279]: mongod(_start+0x2E) [0x56>
mongod[1279]: ----- END BACKTRACE -----
systemd[1]: mongod.service: Control proc>
systemd[1]: mongod.service: Failed with >
systemd[1]: Failed to start MongoDB Data>

I tried to uninstall using this command below:

sudo service mongod stop
sudo apt-get purge mongodb-org*

Remove Data Directories.
Remove MongoDB databases and log files.

sudo rm -r /var/log/mongodb
sudo rm -r /var/lib/mongodb

And fresh install mongodb to another version same thing happened error message didn’t disappeared and mongodb service failed to start.

Mongodb Current Version: MongoDB shell version v4.2.8

Hoping from this forum someone can help me on this issue and able to share some ideas to fix it. Thank you in advance.