Mongo Compass clicking on a different collection loses aggregation progress

Scenario:

Let’s say you have 2 collections. You begin writing an aggregation query for the first collection. Then you want to double check some value that is in the second collection. Clicking on the second collection brings the user to it and clears the aggregation query that has been written for the first collection. Just like that.

Of course, ideally you would expect it to be saved automatically as a draft for you to come back to it once you have done some multi-tasking, something that other software such as email clients do, but no.

To make matters worse, there is no communication to a user about this. There is no prompt informing the user that an aggregation query he/ she spent 30 min designing would be lost and whether it should be saved.

This is such a jarring and punishing experience for simply wanting to glance at something else related to the query being written, that it degrades the whole Compass user experience, making it feel like a bomb, rendering one scared to touch anything to not have it explode in his/ her face with an unintended data loss.

1 Like

Hi @RENOVATIO.

Thank you for your feedback. We are aware of this UX annoyance (other users have reported it too: Do not lose aggregation pipeline when switching to another collection or database – MongoDB Feedback Engine) and we intend to fix it.

For now, the workaround is to open the second collection in a new tab.

2 Likes

This topic was automatically closed 5 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.