Mongo as API aggregator

Hi
I’m an experienced software dev and have worked with every major RDBMS, always been interested in Mongo but never really felt like I had something that fit with Mongo. However, I think I do now, so I wanted to double check. Regardless of the answer I’m enrolled and doing the Mongo courses and really enjoying them and will continue to do so.

So my next task that I am seriously considering using Mongo for, is building a reporting system. I’ve built a few before and really enjoy them. But this one is a little different. We don’t directly own any of the data. I’m basically going to have to aggregate/combine results from Jira and TestRail. Because of the scale this data, I can’t just make new requests and then aggregate/combine responses results sets in the 1000s. The performance will be poor. So I’m looking at persisting the data in Mongo.

Reasons being:

a) The responses from both APIs can be custom, or somewhat flexible
b) They’re JSON to start with and being potentially custom, mapping them into DB tables would be tedious and probably error prone due to the various types that can be returned.
c) The potential scale, so I’ll elaborate. In Jira, we’ll have many projects, a project is a system in our case. So those will have 100s/1000s of stories, then subsequently in TestRail, each story will have multiple test cases, and each test will have a test result for each test run. These are all automated, so may run nightly, so quickly a test will have dozens of results so quickly you have a load of data.

So although I’m not through the data modelling course, I am thinking that there is a lot of scale potential, especially when you start trying to do work around trends over time. There’s what appear to me currently going to be lots of 1:N relations.
Projects 1:N Stories
Stories 1:N Test Cases
Test Cases 1:N Test Results