Modelling for a Pokémon-like game

Hello! Sorry if this seems like a very novice question, I’m just starting out.

I’m pretty lost on how to model the data for a Pokémon-like game that I’m making to teach myself MongoDB and some javascript, that would run as a Discord Bot. My idea for it looks like the following:

Tracking Stamina per user is easy. However, I have no idea how to approach the russian doll design that I’ll need for monsters, and all of the different monsters that someone may have. Should I use maps? Arrays? I’m lost.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the community @Alexander_B! :sparkles:

Assuming this is like Pokémon I think you’d actually probably want to store a monster’s level and XP with the user to avoid you having to look up a user, getting an array of monsters and then having to look up each monster’s data with additional queries.

If this was Pokémon, I’d probably model it like this:

{
  "trainer": "Naomi",
  "party": [
    { "name": "Bulbasaur", "type": "grass", "level": 3, "xp": 80},
    { "name": "Ivysaur", "type": "grass", "level": 18, "xp": 200},
  ]
  "storage": [
  ]
}

And then for monsters if there is a general list of monsters maybe have a collection that has entries with general information about the monster such as:

{"pkdx_id":1,"national_id":1,"name":"Bulbasaur","__v":3,"image_url":"http://pokeapi.co/media/img/1.png","description":"Bulbasaur can be seen napping in bright sunlight. There is a seed on its back. By soaking up the sun's rays, the seed grows progressively larger.  Bulbasaur can be seen napping in bright sunlight. There is a seed on its back. By soaking up the sun's rays, the seed grows progressively larger.","art_url":"http://assets22.pokemon.com/assets/cms2/img/pokedex/full/001.png","types":["poison","grass"],"evolutions":[{"level":16,"method":"level_up","to":"Ivysaur"}]}