Maximum size of database or collection

Hello,
I’m new user and I’m studying MongoDB. I have installed MongoDB as a Docker container on a Linux device. This device sends documents which contain information about some data, in different DBs of MongoDB. I would like to know what is the maximum size of the DB and of the collections and what happens to the DB once that size is reached. Is the information overwritten?
I hope you can help me. Thank you

3 Likes

Hi Federica,

The maximum size an individual document can be in MongoDB is 16MB with a nested depth of 100 levels.

Edit: There is no max size for an individual MongoDB database.

You can learn more about MongoDB limits and thresholds here: https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/reference/limits/ :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Ado,
I had seen the table but there are different parameters for the max size, it goes from 1 TB to 32 TB according to the Chunk Size and Average Size of Shard Key Values. I haven’t set either of these two parameters. What values ​​should I consider?
Sorry for the requests but I have some difficulties to understand how MongoDB works.
Thank you

Hey Federica,

Sorry I made a mistake in my original reply. As far as the database size goes, there is technically no limit for how big an individual database can be.

If you’re using MongoDB Atlas, you won’t ever have to worry about database size as it will scale as you grow.

1 Like

Welcome to the MongoDB Community @FEDERICA_BO!

Practical limits & thresholds to consider are documented in the MongoDB Limits and Thresholds page that @ado shared earlier.

The table you are referring to is specific to Sharding Existing Collection Data Size and per the Important callout for this section, this limitation only applies to initial sharding:

These limits only apply for the initial sharding operation. Sharded collections can grow to any size after successfully enabling sharding.