Looking for a way to use $search fuction via Rest API

Hello,

I’ll preface this by stating that I’m not a developer, I’m from a pharmaceutical background trying to create a tool for academic research.

I’m trying to use the atlas $search function (which provides a fuzzy search for my database hosted on mongo) in a Retool App. Currently, I am using the DATA API provided by atlas but I can only use ‘filter’ and ‘projection’ params to get results.

Is there some documentation about calling the $search function via POST since Retool supports RESTful as a method to pull data for my webapp.

Welcome to the community @Sandeep_N_A :slight_smile:

Is there some documentation about calling the $search function via POST since Retool supports RESTful as a method to pull data for my webapp.

The Atlas Search queries take the form of an aggregation pipeline stage. You will be need to use the POST /action/aggregate endpoint for the Atlas Data API for $search queries. The following Run an Aggregation Pipeline documentation may help you this although the example on the page does not have a $search stage used as part of the pipeline. However, please see the below example I’ve used against a test system which includes the $search stage:

curl --location --request POST 'https://data.mongodb-api.com/app/data-hkzxc/endpoint/data/beta/action/aggregate' \
--header 'Content-Type: application/json' \
--header 'Access-Control-Request-Headers: *' \
--header 'api-key: API_KEY_REDACTED' \
--data-raw '{
    "collection":"namecoll",
    "database":"namedb",
    "dataSource":"M10Cluster",
    "pipeline": [
    	{
    		"$search": {
      			"index": "namecollsearchindex",
      			"text": {
        			"query": "Test",
        			"path": {
          				"wildcard": "*"
        			}
      			}
    		}
  		}
  	]
}'

Response:

{"documents":[
{"_id":"62730ee3d51e21ac65d9db06","name":"Test Name"},
{"_id":"62730f31d51e21ac65d9db0a","name":"John Test"}
]}