Key Value pairs and how they are listed in the Database

I am new to mongodb and I am unsure if I am even posting in the right place.

I have the following schema for a collection of products

On looking at this I am concerned about the dimensions (Length, width, height, and weight). I think it would be better to store them as key value pairs under a Dimensions heading. Should I add the Dimensions field as an object or array? And how is the key value entered in to the record?

1 Like

Hello @David_Thompson, you can store the “dimension” data as an object or an array depending upon the use case (that is what kind of data you are storing and how you are querying it).

In case the dimension’s properties are the same for all the products, you can store like this as an object to group the related data:

dimension: {
    length: 10.2,
    width: 18.0,
    height: 5.77,
    weight: 8.0
}

In case of having different dimension properties for the products then you can apply the Attribute Pattern to store the data in an array field of objects. Each object is a key-value pair as below:

dimensions: [
    { k: "length", v: 12.7 },
    { k: "width", v: 15.0 },
    // other k-v pairs
]
1 Like

@Prasad_Saya , Thanks for your response… Sorry it took me so long to reply, I am doing this project as a side project to my current job.

I understand your examples, however, am using atlas to establish my schema and I cannot edit the array values… when I make the field dimensions and assign it the array datatype, I am immediately confronted with the 0,1,2 field values in the array (item at place 0 is length) but I am unsure whether to make length another array with the value (basically making it a 2 dimensional array) or not.

I made it an object because I can define the data fields with it being an object… Am I on the right thinking?

On another note… I have been thinking about how I am doing my product collection and I have a question for you.